Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > DrawPlus

Notices

DrawPlus Questions about using DrawPlus for vector graphics design

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th August 2011, 03:21 PM   #1
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Cool Grid lines setup question

I'm trying to draw a map. Specifically a city map that will have many layers, including subway lines, streets, and above ground 'highway' for flying vehicles.

What I need to do is setup the grid line behind all that to represent 1/4 km distances. There is an option for # of lines per x distance that I don't understand how to use to get the program do to what I want.

Can someone help me sort out how to get grid lines to show me what I need and still make it fit on a standard 11" x 17" piece of paper. 8" x 14" would work better but its not horribly expensive to get the larger size printed out at Kinko's.

If I missed a thread dealing with this someone link me there please.
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 16th August 2011, 04:35 PM   #2
Archibald
Master
 
Archibald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England
Posts: 14,419
Archibald has a reputation approching nirvanaArchibald has a reputation approching nirvanaArchibald has a reputation approching nirvanaArchibald has a reputation approching nirvanaArchibald has a reputation approching nirvanaArchibald has a reputation approching nirvana
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

1) Use 'File' > 'Page setup' and set your paper size.

2) Use 'Tools' > 'Options' > 'Layout' > 'Drawing scale' and set scale e.g. 50mm = 1km.

3) Use 'Tools' > 'Options' > 'Layout' > 'Grid and guides' and set to 4 lines per km with 1 subdivisions.

4) Press the "#" key to show and hide the grid.

You could try setting 1 line per km with 4 subdivisions but I found yesterday that I could not get subdivisions to display in X5 (among numerous other bugs I came across).
__________________
Archibald
Archibald is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 07:20 PM   #3
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Okay. The grid function in this thing fails. At all points. I ask for 26 lines/inch in 1 subdivision I get lines at every half inch which is NOT what the setting should give me.

I'm going to go find the bug list and add this to it. I've spent 5 fruitless hours trying to make this work and it fails.

Anyone have any suggestions for an earlier version I "might" be able to export to that will let me HAVE the freaking grid system work.

And Archibald. I really to appreciate your reply. I just wish the grid system worked. Period.
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 07:53 PM   #4
MikeR
Senior Member
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,786
MikeR is a glorious beacon of lightMikeR is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Seems to work in X4.
__________________
Mike

Medion MD8833 with Intel Q6600 + 3GB. Win 7 64 Ultimate SP1.

MikeR is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:15 PM   #5
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Hmm...question then is can I save it in x4 format and open in that program.
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:23 PM   #6
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeqTec View Post
Hmm...question then is can I save it in x4 format and open in that program.
You can't save in X4 format from X5, but you should be able to open any X5 file in X4. The older version of the program will warn you that the file was last saved from a newer version, and that consequently there may be some features which are not understood by the version in which you're trying to open it, but it shouldn't fail to open.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:25 PM   #7
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Okay. This is weird. I created a new page in x4 with 25 lines/inch and 14 subdivisions. Showed up with lots of lines on the page.

I up the number of lines to 26 lines/inch with the same number of subdivisions and I wind up with the same 1 inch divisions from before? I don't need the stupid thing to eliminate lines mathematically, or whatever its doing. I need the 26 lines!
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:26 PM   #8
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Thanks Awful Punster. Yeah, I'm pretty sure I've got the right guy. Thanks MikeR for the input.
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:50 PM   #9
BeqTec
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In the Ferns
Posts: 109
BeqTec has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

And I've found the kicker. It's a matter of zooming IN enough to see the little lines.

Where's the dunce cap smiley? Oh here it is.

We need a head desk smiley for these moments.
__________________
Happiness is a purring kitty.

Creativity: 2% inspiration, 98% perspiration. (paraphrased from T. Edison)
BeqTec is offline  
Old 28th August 2011, 08:59 PM   #10
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Grid lines setup question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeqTec View Post
Thanks Awful Punster. Yeah, I'm pretty sure I've got the right guy.
Guilty as charged!

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PagePlus X4: New user - page setup question Sunshine14 PagePlus 4 12th July 2010 10:33 PM
DrawPlus X3: Grid setup Fnky_Mnky DrawPlus 2 18th August 2009 03:22 PM
WebPlus X2: comic page setup question yolkietoby WebPlus 5 18th June 2009 09:21 AM
grid setup Joe DrawPlus 2 11th October 2006 07:30 AM
Grid lines on Inserted PhotoPlus 7 Objects Roland Krom PagePlus 0 28th February 2002 09:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:04 AM.