Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > WebPlus

Notices

WebPlus Questions about using WebPlus for website design

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:30 PM   #1
Nathan1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Nathan1 is on a distinguished road
Default How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5? What do i need to do?
Nathan1 is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:40 PM   #2
Jim B.
Master
 
Jim B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,709
Jim B. will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5? What do i need to do?
Follow the directions from GoDaddy?

You should have received an E-mail from GoDaddy with your user name, password, upload address, folder name, port number, security settings, etc.

In WebPlus, create a publish/upload/FTP account using the information from that GoDaddy E-mail - user name, password...

After you have your account set up in WebPlus, then just select WebPlus' "Publish to Web" feature.
__________________
Jim B. :> )

Picture taking. It's a snap!

Good photography. It's complicated.

Last edited by Jim B.; 23rd June 2011 at 09:32 PM. Reason: fixd sum airs.
Jim B. is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:43 PM   #3
Nathan1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Nathan1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim B. View Post
Follow the directions from GoDaddy?

You should have received an E-mail from GoDaddy with your user name, password, upload address, folder name, port number security settings, etc.

In WebPlus, create a publish/upload/FTP account using the information from that GoDaddy E-mail - user name, password...

After yo have your account set up in WebPlus, then just select WebPlus' "Publish to Web" feature.


I just bought the domain, no e-mail has been sent to me about the user name and password
Nathan1 is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:48 PM   #4
Jim B.
Master
 
Jim B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,709
Jim B. will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
I just bought the domain, no e-mail has been sent to me about the user name and password
OK, you have a domain name.

You also have a domain name manager account at GoDaddy where you can manage your various domain name settings. Either you specified a user name and password when you created your GoDaddy domain name account, or GoDaddy should have sent a user name and password via E-mail to you so you can log in to your domain name manager.

Did you (also) purchase web site hosting from GoDaddy (or from any other web host)?

A domain name and web site hosting are two different things, and are usually purchased either as two separate items, or as a bundle of two or more services.
__________________
Jim B. :> )

Picture taking. It's a snap!

Good photography. It's complicated.
Jim B. is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:51 PM   #5
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
I just bought the domain, no e-mail has been sent to me about the user name and password
Like JimB said. You must also purchase a hosting package from Godaddy.com. If you call their 800 number, the kind folks there will walk you through the procedure, and then they will send along an email with the access information so that you can publish your site.


Lon "a Godaddy customer" in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics

I was there at the beginning of FullyPixel.com, a Serif Software User's Forum.
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 08:53 PM   #6
Nathan1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Nathan1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim B. View Post
OK, you have a domain name.

You also have a domain name manager account at GoDaddy where you can manage your various domain name settings. Either you specified a user name and password when you created your GoDaddy domain name account, or GoDaddy should have sent a user name and password via E-mail to you so you can log in to your domain name manager.

Did you (also) purchase web site hosting from GoDaddy (or from any other web host)?

A domain name and web site hosting are two different things, and are usually purchased either as two separate items, or as a bundle of two or more services.
No i did not purchase a web hosting, why do you need it to put it on the internet,i haven't got a clue about all this i just want my website on the internet,All i have is webplus x5 and a domain name
Nathan1 is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 09:01 PM   #7
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 24,066
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
No i did not purchase a web hosting, why do you need it to put it on the internet,i haven't got a clue about all this i just want my website on the internet,All i have is webplus x5 and a domain name
You need a domain name, someone to host the site and software to create it. You have the first and the last. Without the second, you can't put it on the internet. Your domain name is just that - a name. Call it intellectual property of a brand name, if you will.
__________________
Ali
Did I help you? If so, you could add to my reputation (click the scales icon on the left). Thanks!
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM
WPX2-6 SITES: The Falcon Inn (X6) | Martin Sexton - Artist (X2) | Clover Greetings
(X6)
Ali is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 09:09 PM   #8
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5? What do i need to do?
If you have a domain name without a hosting package, then Go Daddy is only your domain name registrar, not your web host. You can get by with hosting space and no domain name, but not the other way around.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 09:37 PM   #9
Jim B.
Master
 
Jim B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,709
Jim B. will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

If you purchased WebPlus X5, then you might be entitled to some free web site hosting from Serif.

How much free web hosting you can get (6, 12, 18 or other months) depends on the offer that was included with your WebPlus package. Check the WebPlus X5 box/package to see what you can get at no additional cost.
__________________
Jim B. :> )

Picture taking. It's a snap!

Good photography. It's complicated.
Jim B. is offline  
Old 23rd June 2011, 10:05 PM   #10
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,753
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim B. View Post
If you purchased WebPlus X5, then you might be entitled to some free web site hosting from Serif.

How much free web hosting you can get (6, 12, 18 or other months) depends on the offer that was included with your WebPlus package. Check the WebPlus X5 box/package to see what you can get at no additional cost.
To find out about the free hosting amount, go to www.serif.com and log in to My Account. It will be listed there.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 24th June 2011, 02:59 AM   #11
Julie W
Advanced Member
 
Julie W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 768
Julie W is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Jim B.,

I love that you've "gone green"! I always get such a kick out of your sig lines!
Julie W is offline  
Old 24th June 2011, 04:14 AM   #12
tomH
Advanced Member
 
tomH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Florida, USA
Posts: 705
tomH is well on the road to greatness
Default Re: How do i upload a website to the internet if my host is godaddy using webplus x5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan1 View Post
No i did not purchase a web hosting, why do you need it to put it on the internet,i haven't got a clue about all this i just want my website on the internet,All i have is webplus x5 and a domain name
Several years ago I was having a problem uploading a site to GoDaddy, but they helped me settle the matter and get my site onto the Internet in just a few minutes. Do as others have said-call them, and be prepared to buy a hosting package. You'll be online in a short while. That last presumes that you have already constructed your web site using WPX5.

tomH
tomH is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X4: Can't upload to godaddy server jbottomsbooty WebPlus 6 13th February 2011 02:08 PM
Has anyone used 000space.com to host a website? I can't upload the site! elvisalpha WebPlus 11 21st September 2009 06:00 PM
Upload my site to Godaddy??????? Endymion WebPlus 8 26th January 2009 01:48 PM
Webplus crashes everytime I try to upload my website. Richard WebPlus 9 13th December 2008 12:01 PM
Unable to upload to Godaddy dave cooper WebPlus 2 10th July 2008 04:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 AM.