Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > DrawPlus

Notices

DrawPlus Questions about using DrawPlus for vector graphics design

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th April 2011, 12:17 PM   #1
Neil J
Senior Member
 
Neil J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,549
Neil J is a name known to allNeil J is a name known to all
Default Crash when selecting Photolab

Hi, got an issue

I've converted a quickshape to a bitmap, then go to select Photolab and DrawPlus crashed. I've got the latest patch and have done a Ctrl start up but still the problem persists.

Could it be that the original file was an EPS which was opened up in DrawPlus.

Just tried copying the content over to a new file and trying that but still happening?

Can I send you the file MattP? It has content I'd prefer not to post in the forum.
__________________
Neil Judges
Serif WebPlus Templates
Free WebPlus Addons

Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-4430 3.00GHz; 16GB RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
Neil J is offline  
Old 8th April 2011, 12:44 PM   #2
Ken Cope
Expert
 
Ken Cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 7,536
Ken Cope is just really niceKen Cope is just really nice
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil J View Post
Hi, got an issue

I've converted a quickshape to a bitmap, then go to select Photolab and DrawPlus crashed. I've got the latest patch and have done a Ctrl start up but still the problem persists.
Hi Neil, no problem here with creating a new document, QS created, converted to bitmap and opening in PhotoLab.

Are you able to create a new document and do the same without the crash? If not perhaps it has something to do with the installation?
__________________
Ken (Major Confusion)
Sharing the FUN with Serif software - my site with Serif related tutorials and projects


Stuck with something? Please look at these other helpful Serif related links:
WebPlus How-to siteLive Help - webplus supportDonD's WebPlus help siteAlfred's Serif related site
Ken Cope is offline  
Old 8th April 2011, 01:05 PM   #3
Neil J
Senior Member
 
Neil J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,549
Neil J is a name known to allNeil J is a name known to all
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Hey Ken, thanks for your reply.

I've never had issues with this before, and I do it a lot!

Just tried what you suggested, started a new file and went through the motions - quickshape > convert to bitmap > open Photolab, and it works fine... It seems there's an issue when doing this from a file that was originally an EPS file
__________________
Neil Judges
Serif WebPlus Templates
Free WebPlus Addons

Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-4430 3.00GHz; 16GB RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
Neil J is offline  
Old 8th April 2011, 01:09 PM   #4
rosiehaywood
Regular Member
 
rosiehaywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 90
rosiehaywood is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil J View Post
Hi, got an issue

I've converted a quickshape to a bitmap, then go to select Photolab and DrawPlus crashed. I've got the latest patch and have done a Ctrl start up but still the problem persists.

Could it be that the original file was an EPS which was opened up in DrawPlus.

Just tried copying the content over to a new file and trying that but still happening?

Can I send you the file MattP? It has content I'd prefer not to post in the forum.
No crash here. Everything worked as expected.
rosiehaywood is offline  
Old 8th April 2011, 01:12 PM   #5
Ken Cope
Expert
 
Ken Cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 7,536
Ken Cope is just really niceKen Cope is just really nice
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil J View Post
Hey Ken, thanks for your reply.

I've never had issues with this before, and I do it a lot!

Just tried what you suggested, started a new file and went through the motions - quickshape > convert to bitmap > open Photolab, and it works fine... It seems there's an issue when doing this from a file that was originally an EPS file
Hi Neil,

Yes certainly looks as though the EPS file is the rogue in the mix!
__________________
Ken (Major Confusion)
Sharing the FUN with Serif software - my site with Serif related tutorials and projects


Stuck with something? Please look at these other helpful Serif related links:
WebPlus How-to siteLive Help - webplus supportDonD's WebPlus help siteAlfred's Serif related site
Ken Cope is offline  
Old 8th April 2011, 01:47 PM   #6
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil J View Post
Hey Ken, thanks for your reply.

I've never had issues with this before, and I do it a lot!

Just tried what you suggested, started a new file and went through the motions - quickshape > convert to bitmap > open Photolab, and it works fine... It seems there's an issue when doing this from a file that was originally an EPS file
Hi Neil,

I would try creating a PDF from the original file and then opening that in DrawPlus. Might work, might not.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 9th April 2011, 07:49 AM   #7
Neil J
Senior Member
 
Neil J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,549
Neil J is a name known to allNeil J is a name known to all
Default Re: Crash when selecting Photolab

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredP View Post
Hi Neil,

I would try creating a PDF from the original file and then opening that in DrawPlus. Might work, might not.

Alfred
Could be worth a try, thanks Alfred, and everyone else, of course
__________________
Neil Judges
Serif WebPlus Templates
Free WebPlus Addons

Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-4430 3.00GHz; 16GB RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
Neil J is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selecting OPTIONS = Crash mjh PagePlus 6 15th January 2007 11:41 AM
PagePlus Wizards Crash when selecting New Color Scheme Adam Rykala PagePlus 2 25th January 2002 04:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 PM.