Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > PhotoPlus

Notices

PhotoPlus Questions about using PhotoPlus for photo editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th March 2011, 11:07 PM   #1
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Please would someone help me work this one out? I'm not even sure what to be searching for.

I have a .jpg that I would like to add to another .jpg (or gif), ie a daffodil in the corner of another photo.

I don't know what to search for in the help; I have looked through my User Guide. I'm assuming I need to 'extract' the daffodil first but then what do I do with it? Or, is their another way?

I would appreciate some (simple) instructions, please.

Thanks very much
Energize is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:20 PM   #2
Naz
Expert
 
Naz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: A galaxy far far away....
Posts: 5,211
Naz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant future
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

You open the background photo, you then open the flower photo, select the flower, edit copy, go to the background poto, edit past and move into position.
__________________
Naz

iPlus360.com || Free downloads || Free PHP script generator
If someone's answer helped, please give them a Positive Reputation vote (second icon bottom left of person)
Naz is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:20 PM   #3
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Once you've extracted the daffodil to give it the transparent background that you need (and which JPEGs cannot have) you can simply 'Paste As New Layer (Ctrl+L)' into the other image. Use the Deform Tool to adjust the position and size of the new layer, and then export to your chosen format when you're happy with the result.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:22 PM   #4
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Thanks for your post, Alfred. I'll have a go at that now.
Cheers
Energize is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:45 PM   #5
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Bah Humbug!!! I have 'extracted' the daffodil (not terribly well, but there you go!). I have got another layer with the 'background' layer but I can't seem to 'paste' the daffodil onto the other picture. Every time I do Ctrl + L, I just get another daffodil on yet another layer.

So, I now have a lot of layers, each with a daffodil, and one layer with the background picture. Please, what am I doing wrong, or not doing???

Thanks
Energize is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:53 PM   #6
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

If you have one image with multiple daffodil layers and another image with a single 'background' layer, you've simply neglected to click on the background image to make it the active image before you perform the 'Paste As New Layer' step.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 4th March 2011, 11:57 PM   #7
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,748
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Energize View Post
Bah Humbug!!! I have 'extracted' the daffodil (not terribly well, but there you go!). I have got another layer with the 'background' layer but I can't seem to 'paste' the daffodil onto the other picture. Every time I do Ctrl + L, I just get another daffodil on yet another layer.

So, I now have a lot of layers, each with a daffodil, and one layer with the background picture. Please, what am I doing wrong, or not doing???

Thanks
Yes, you will have different images on different layers. This allows you to move and to deform each layer independently.

When you are happy, you can merge the layers, or simply export the file (which flattens the layers).

One I did earlier.
__________________
64-bit Win8.1.2 Pro, 8GB RAM, i5-2320, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win8.1.2 Pro, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon 200 Graphics.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon 200 Graphics.

Last edited by RichardS; 24th May 2011 at 10:11 AM.
RichardS is offline  
Old 5th March 2011, 12:01 AM   #8
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Sorry, Naz

I somehow managed to miss your post. However, along with Alfred's, it's helped me tremendously, so thank you.

Alfed, thanks for pointing out that I had failed to select the background image before trying to paste the daffodil. It's worked now!!! Brilliant.

So, now, I need to do it again, with a different picture and make notes of how to do this, as my memory is so bad. I'll never be able to do it again!!!

Thanks so very much
Julie
Energize is offline  
Old 5th March 2011, 12:04 AM   #9
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Thanks Richard
You must have posted at the same time as I did!!!

I'm not sure what you mean by 'merge' or 'export'. Would you explain further for me?

Much appreciated
Energize is offline  
Old 5th March 2011, 12:19 AM   #10
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,525
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Energize View Post
Thanks Richard
You must have posted at the same time as I did!!!

I'm not sure what you mean by 'merge' or 'export'. Would you explain further for me?

Much appreciated
Hi Julie,

When you choose to 'Save' from PhotoPlus you are saving the file in the native (*.Spp) format which preserves the layer structure, but when you 'Export' to a standard image file format such as JPEG (which doesn't support layers) the image is "flattened". You can also right-click in the Layers tab and 'Merge All' to reduce the .Spp image to a single layer, but this also reduces your ability to make changes easily if you come back to the image at a later date.

(~not Richard)

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 5th March 2011, 12:51 AM   #11
Energize
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cambridge/Ipswich UK
Posts: 42
Energize is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Thanks Alfred

I think I shall have to digest that tomorrow. It's getting too late for me now.
Thanks very much for your help. I've learnt more about this program this evening

Cheers
Julie
Energize is offline  
Old 5th March 2011, 01:00 AM   #12
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,748
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Superimpose photo on photo - How to...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Energize View Post
Thanks Alfred

I think I shall have to digest that tomorrow. It's getting too late for me now.
Thanks very much for your help. I've learnt more about this program this evening
With some antediluvian image editing programs made by famous USA companies I gather that you have to remember to merge the layers before exporting the image.

(~ not Alfred )
__________________
64-bit Win8.1.2 Pro, 8GB RAM, i5-2320, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win8.1.2 Pro, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon 200 Graphics.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon 200 Graphics.
RichardS is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X4: Photo Gallery where the user can upload photo`s. Starworx WebPlus 5 24th March 2011 10:44 PM
WebPlus X4: Editing the time of a photo in Photo Gallery webplusX4 LEN CRAWLEY WebPlus 2 1st October 2010 02:30 PM
WebPlus X4: SCRIPTS photo gallery option put WHITE SPECS on photo! Lihain2 WebPlus 2 23rd September 2010 08:10 AM
WebPlus X4: Best Photo Quality in the the professional flash photo gallery ? Click_Click_Me WebPlus 29 17th March 2010 03:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 AM.