Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > MoviePlus

Notices

MoviePlus Questions about using MoviePlus for video editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th March 2009, 09:17 AM   #1
rodpatient
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 12
rodpatient is on a distinguished road
Default Vista 64-bit

Hi,

I'm using MoviePlusX3 on a Core2 Quad (4 x 3GHz) with 4GB of RAM and a 1024MB ATI Radeon Diamond graphics card using Vista Home Premium 64-bit. I have also downloaded and installed all available MPX3 patches.

I said all that because you'd expect MPX3 to run like the proverbial "s*** off of a shovel". However, the reality is that it runs slower than it did on my old Core2 Duo with Windows XP Home and it now also constantly crashes. I have tried adding some huge HD files (1920 x 1080) in .m2ts format - crash! low resolution files (512 x 384) in .wmv format - crash! - etc, etc.

The next test on my new PC (as I have now created a dual boot system - Vista 64-bit and XP Home) was to run MPX3 under XP - it runs like an express train, yeeeehaaa!

My conclusion is that MPX3 does not like Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit.

Does anyone else have similar experiences with Vista? Would anyone from Serif like to comment on possible patches/fixes?

Cheers, Rod
rodpatient is offline  
Old 14th March 2009, 11:21 AM   #2
relate2
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21
relate2 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista 64-bit

Just giving a hint from a different program that has a problem running under Vista 64. When this program is run as administrator it works fine. Maybe MPX3 will work the same, at least it won't cost you anything to try.
relate2 is offline  
Old 15th March 2009, 06:26 PM   #3
rodpatient
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 12
rodpatient is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista 64-bit

Thanks for the suggestion, but I've already tried that (it made no difference!)
Rod
rodpatient is offline  
Old 17th March 2009, 11:17 AM   #4
biggreenfurrything
Regular Member
 
biggreenfurrything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 288
biggreenfurrything is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Vista 64-bit

I've only edited a few short movies by sucking in footage directly from my JVC camcorder. So far no problems other than operator error.

My set up is not identical but it is similar: Vista Ultimate 64 running on 9450 quad core 2.66GHz, 8GB, nVidia GeForce 9600GT 512MB.

From bitter experience with ATi cards and 3D applications, I'd recommend downloading and installing the latest drivers. Or buying an nVidia card.
__________________
Cheers,
Mark
biggreenfurrything is offline  
Old 17th March 2009, 12:54 PM   #5
rodpatient
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 12
rodpatient is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista 64-bit

Thanks for the info Mark,

"operator error", "OPERATOR ERROR" - what can you mean?"

Seriously though, I'll have a scout round for any updated drivers for my ATI Radeon HD 4800 video card, even though I only bought it a week or two ago (I know the installation CDs can, like me, be quite old).

Once I've done that, I'll report back!

Rod
(PS - just looked at the "PNY NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600" - perhaps I'll get a couple of them! )
rodpatient is offline  
Old 17th March 2009, 02:03 PM   #6
biggreenfurrything
Regular Member
 
biggreenfurrything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 288
biggreenfurrything is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Vista 64-bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodpatient View Post
"operator error", "OPERATOR ERROR" - what can you mean?"
I never read the manual unless I get really stuck! I bought the Director's guide and that's gathering dust too.

Quote:
"PNY NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600" - perhaps I'll get a couple of them!
That should do the job nicely.
__________________
Cheers,
Mark
biggreenfurrything is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
64-bit, crash, movieplusx3, vista

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:10 PM.