Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > MoviePlus

Notices

MoviePlus Questions about using MoviePlus for video editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd May 2006, 03:52 PM   #1
Gary Russell
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec search

I suppose there is no real 'fix' to this issue. I have several MPEG files that use AC3 2 channel audio. MP5 has the button to 'find 3rd party codec'. I have several AC3 codecs installed including the open source version. Perhaps MP5 just can't decide which to use, but MP5 never finds one to use. I just get the notorious (not responding). I can end this with the Task manager.

With more camcorders now recording in MPEG2 with AC3, MP5 needs native AC3 support. Not 3rd party. There's even a few camcorders out now with AC3 5.1.

MP5 includes many advanced editing capabilities, but seems to be behind the curve with audio support.
 
Old 23rd May 2006, 05:30 PM   #2
MikeR
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

I agree. I can't get the find codec function to work, nor can I rip CDs with either MP4 or MP5.
 
Old 23rd May 2006, 05:50 PM   #3
Vic
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

I find this strange as I have certainly manged to capture track's from CD's using MoviePlus 4?.

Perhaps some copy protection is getting in the way on the CD's you have tried?.

Vic
 
Old 24th May 2006, 10:47 AM   #4
Jon White
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

Mike,
I suspect your PC has not got a cable from the CD_ROM drive to the soundcard.
Fitting one of these should fix your problem.
Jon White
MoviePlus Project Leader
 
Old 24th May 2006, 01:02 PM   #5
Vic
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

I think there is a good chance Jon is right.

I had a quick check on my PC when I got home after my late shift last night and found some of the audio tracks I had trasfered from CD using MoviePlus 4 and they load and play fine in MoviePlus 5.

I did not have time to try to copy from CD using MoviePlus 5 as I had a quick turn arround and was only home for 8 hours.

Vic
 
Old 3rd June 2006, 12:33 PM   #6
Patrick Hallows
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec search

I have the same problem with find codec causing MP5 to hang. In my case I was trying to use VOB files from my hdd that were created with Pinnacle Studio 9. I tried leaving it running all night but it was still hourglassing next morning. Seems like there is an underlying problem in MP5 and it does seem to be audio related as the VOB files do show video if you hover the mouse over the icon or drag it to the timeline and preview it.

It seems that the workaround to my problem is to install the AC3 filter from
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=66022&package_id=63808&rele ase_id=178906

With the filter installed, MP5 finds the codec immediately and pops up a window asking if you want to use it.
 
Old 3rd June 2006, 01:44 PM   #7
Peter L
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec search

Patrick

Good to hear you have now resolved this. For others a clickable link to the page you mention is here: AC3 filter http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ease_id=178906.

Peter
 
Old 12th June 2006, 04:02 PM   #8
MikeR
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

Yes, I suspected that was the issue. Nevertheless, I don't have the problem with any other software, so I guess you're capturing in analogue mode and they are using digital capture, which seems to make sense. Any chance of a patch to enable this?
 
Old 12th June 2006, 04:03 PM   #9
MikeR
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re:MP5 (not responding) with 3rd party codec searc

I don't think so. Copy protection on CDs is very rare and I can capture OK with several other programs with no difficulty. The process appears to work and creates a wav file, but it is silent!
 
Old 22nd June 2006, 12:02 PM   #10
Alan
Message imported from old Serif Forum
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb vob. files,ac3

Hi, All I had a problem importing vob. files in that MP5 would only find the codec for the first vob.So now instead sliding files over I use dvd decryter in IFO mode making sure I go too tools, settings and set file splitting to none.Now with only the one vob. MP5 is happy and I am happy to wait for a patch to solve this multiple vob. problem.
Reards Alan
 
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:51 PM.