Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Older Software > FontManager

Notices

FontManager Typeface Organisation Software

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th February 2011, 03:33 AM   #1
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default FMX3 & PPX5?

I have both FontManager X3 and PagePlus X5 installed on my machine and I can launch FM from the little icon at the bottom of the font Studio tab. However, when opening documents that require font substitution, the "Use Font Manager" option is grayed out and I've not found in any of the Help files how to go about activating it (if in fact that is a manual process).
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 02:18 AM   #2
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,452
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

I believe it is entirely automatic. If you see that dialogue, I think FM is already working.

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is online now  
Old 8th February 2011, 07:07 AM   #3
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Blanthorn View Post
I believe it is entirely automatic. If you see that dialogue, I think FM is already working.

Geoff
Thanks, Geoff. I'm revisiting the FM Help files and finding that it should be automatic, though it does say that if the "Use Font Manager" option is grayed out, it means FM isn't installed which it definitely *is*.
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 09:20 AM   #4
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Schuhle View Post
Thanks, Geoff. I'm revisiting the FM Help files and finding that it should be automatic, though it does say that if the "Use Font Manager" option is grayed out, it means FM isn't installed which it definitely *is*.
Have you reinstalled FM since X5 was installed? My guess is that it needs X5 there beforehand so that registry entries can be written.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 10:17 PM   #5
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali View Post
Have you reinstalled FM since X5 was installed? My guess is that it needs X5 there beforehand so that registry entries can be written.
Hi, Ali -- I had not done that, so uninstalled FM and re-installed, but still get the grayed-out "Use Font Manager" option. Will let you know if I come up with anything.
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 10:47 PM   #6
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Schuhle View Post
Hi, Ali -- I had not done that, so uninstalled FM and re-installed, but still get the grayed-out "Use Font Manager" option. Will let you know if I come up with anything.
Oh ... Well, it was just a thought ... Sorry it didn't work out. Has to be related to the registry, though, don't you think? Maybe cleaning the registry of all traces of FM and starting again?
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 11:05 PM   #7
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali View Post
Oh ... Well, it was just a thought ... Sorry it didn't work out. Has to be related to the registry, though, don't you think? Maybe cleaning the registry of all traces of FM and starting again?
I did uninstall FM using Revo Uninstaller and it found and removed a *bunch* of leftover stuff from the registry (I'm not a "registry explorer" type myself, so wouldn't go looking for more). Like I say, will let you know if I get it sussed. Thanks again for your suggestions.
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 8th February 2011, 11:10 PM   #8
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Schuhle View Post
I did uninstall FM using Revo Uninstaller and it found and removed a *bunch* of leftover stuff from the registry (I'm not a "registry explorer" type myself, so wouldn't go looking for more). Like I say, will let you know if I get it sussed. Thanks again for your suggestions.
Yes, do let us know, Bill. I don't go down the registry cleaner route unless I am really desperate, I'll be honest!
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 9th February 2011, 12:26 PM   #9
Sarah W
Expert
 
Sarah W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,465
Sarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Hi Bill,

The "Use FontManager" option will only be enabled if the fonts that are missing were uninstalled by FontManager in the first place. If you uninstalled them manually, FM doesn't know where to find and reinstall them.

I hope that helps
Sarah W is offline  
Old 9th February 2011, 05:13 PM   #10
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah W View Post
Hi Bill,

The "Use FontManager" option will only be enabled if the fonts that are missing were uninstalled by FontManager in the first place. If you uninstalled them manually, FM doesn't know where to find and reinstall them.

I hope that helps
Sarah,

Wow, no kidding? That seems pretty restricting. If you wanted FM to have access to all the fonts on your computer, you'd have to install them all using FM then uninstall them all? Yikes! FM doesn't have a function where it searches for all font on your system so it then knows where they are? I ran the "Find Fonts" function, but apparently that doesn't translate into FM "knowing" where they all are?
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 9th February 2011, 07:24 PM   #11
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Schuhle View Post
FM doesn't have a function where it searches for all font on your system so it then knows where they are?
Bill,

That could take a very long time with the amount of hard disk space typically found on a modern PC! However, I would have thought it should be relatively easy to implement a means of telling FM to look in a particular folder or set of folders.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 10th February 2011, 12:19 PM   #12
Sarah W
Expert
 
Sarah W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,465
Sarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

I'm afraid that is currently the case, yes. You can install the fonts manually, but you then need to use FM to uninstall them so that it has them registered as available to reinstall on-demand.
Sarah W is offline  
Old 10th February 2011, 02:44 PM   #13
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah W View Post
I'm afraid that is currently the case, yes. You can install the fonts manually, but you then need to use FM to uninstall them so that it has them registered as available to reinstall on-demand.
I wouldn't normally expect to be happy to tell you that you're mistaken, Sarah, but in this case I am! I have a bunch (Technical Term™ ) of fonts which are not installed, and FMX2 was able to find them after I added them to a 'Group'.

BTW, the wording on the Missing Fonts dialog in PP could do with a little tidying up: the status of these fonts is listed as "Located" but the option offered is to use FM to "find and install" them. They've already been found/located, so it should simply ask whether you want FM to "install the located fonts".

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 10th February 2011, 02:47 PM   #14
Sarah W
Expert
 
Sarah W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,465
Sarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

It's been quite a while since I've used Font Manager in any great depth, so I don't mind! That sounds right, adding them to a group would also mean that FM can locate them for install.

I'll mention the wording to the developers and see if they'll tweak it for next time.
Sarah W is offline  
Old 10th February 2011, 11:27 PM   #15
trevordl
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
trevordl is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

is there any news of an upgrade for the fontmanager, the original proxima software has been updated, will there be any new version from serif or anything else in the pipeline?
trevordl is offline  
Old 11th February 2011, 12:31 AM   #16
Jim B.
Master
 
Jim B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,706
Jim B. will become famous soon enough
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevordl View Post
is there any news of an upgrade for the fontmanager, the original proxima software has been updated, will there be any new version from serif or anything else in the pipeline?
Due to Serif's Font Manager seemingly no longer being listed in Serif's web site, I'd speculate that Serif's version has been discontinued, and if so, the likelihood of any updates would be rather low.
__________________
Jim B. :> )

Picture taking. It's a snap!

Good photography. It's complicated.
Jim B. is offline  
Old 12th February 2011, 05:33 AM   #17
Bill Schuhle
Senior Member
 
Bill Schuhle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,874
Bill Schuhle has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah W View Post
That sounds right, adding them to a group would also mean that FM can locate them for install.
I have done the following:

1) Created a full set of FontManager groups which encompass all the fonts on my machine that I would ever want to use in PagePlus.
2) Used The Font Thing to install two Serif fonts then created a PPX5 document which incorporated those two fonts.
3) Used The Font Thing to uninstall the two fonts.
4) Re-opened the test document which, on opening, still showed the "Use Font Manager" option as grayed out and PP's "search" for the two fonts did not find them.
5) I then used FM to install and uninstall the two fonts, but on re-opening the document had the same result as in 4) above.

In short, I've tried both Sarah's and Alfred's techniques for "cluing FM in on" the location of the two fonts in question, but to no avail. Any further suggestions would be welcome.
__________________
Bill Schuhle

Desktop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 3GHz Pentium 4, 2GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 4GB ReadyBoost
Laptop: Win7 Home Premium SP1, 1.9GHz Athalon X2 QL-60, 3GB RAM, 128GB SSD
Bill Schuhle is offline  
Old 15th March 2012, 09:50 PM   #18
HLS Design
Regular Member
 
HLS Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 159
HLS Design is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah W View Post
It's been quite a while since I've used Font Manager in any great depth, so I don't mind! That sounds right, adding them to a group would also mean that FM can locate them for install.

I'll mention the wording to the developers and see if they'll tweak it for next time.
Sarah -

I know this is an older post, and the reply's afterwards make it sound as if this project is/will be abandoned, however...

Could you have the developers think about adding a 'font creation' utility ( I added this to the product suggestions section - but thought I'd add it here too ).

Nothing fancy, just the ability to scan, trace and save in either .otf or .ttf would be great !

Thanks,

Ron
HLS Design is offline  
Old 15th March 2012, 10:41 PM   #19
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HLS Design View Post
Nothing fancy, just the ability to scan, trace and save in either .otf or .ttf would be great !
Something like Scanahand High-Logic, perhaps?

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 15th March 2012, 11:01 PM   #20
HLS Design
Regular Member
 
HLS Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 159
HLS Design is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FMX3 & PPX5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredP View Post
Something like Scanahand High-Logic, perhaps?

Alfred
Alfred -

Yes, just like that or FontCreator 6.5 ( also by High-Logic ), but I was hoping for a simple utility that could be developed and included in either DrawPlus or FontManager, so I can stick with the Serif Brand.

I've looked at High-Logic's offerings, along with CR8software.net ( <- this company has a demo available from cnet, but their website does not seem to be working, which is not a good sign from a potential buyer's perspective ).

While on this topic, does anyone have any experience with FontForge ?

Thanks,

Ron
HLS Design is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PagePlus X5: PPX5 Freezes Moving Hearts PagePlus 6 24th January 2011 04:33 PM
PagePlus X4: What's new in PPX5 ? Red_Kite PagePlus 4 30th June 2010 03:27 PM
FMX3 and PPX4 are they compatible? andyjh FontManager 3 15th October 2009 06:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 PM.