Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Community > Product Suggestions

Notices

Product Suggestions Post feature requests for specific products in the appropriate wish-list thread, and other suggestions in new threads.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th March 2013, 03:39 PM   #1
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Please post your ideas as well as wishes for WebPlus X7 in this thread.


You can read some of the earlier wishes here in the last thread:
http://forums.serif.com/showthread.php?t=124735
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome

Last edited by AlfredP; 10th March 2013 at 03:32 PM.
mjh is offline  
Old 10th March 2013, 03:39 PM   #2
Tamutka
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 346
Tamutka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

It would be nice that we could group the panel and the picture or
to drag and drop the Quick shape with picture?

Last edited by AlfredP; 19th March 2013 at 07:08 PM. Reason: Post moved to new wishlist
Tamutka is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 12:43 PM   #3
Kerri
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Kerri is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Please can you add a feature that allows us to get the html code of our websites in order to edit them in an html editor, clients keep asking if they can have their websites designed but don't want to be tied to WebPlus. For example they want a website designed then wnat the html pages sent to them so they can make changes in say Dreamweaver etc.
Kerri is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 02:49 PM   #4
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerri View Post
Please can you add a feature that allows us to get the html code of our websites in order to edit them in an html editor, clients keep asking if they can have their websites designed but don't want to be tied to WebPlus. For example they want a website designed then wnat the html pages sent to them so they can make changes in say Dreamweaver etc.

There is and always has been such a feature: it is called Publish to Disk and is to be found on the File menu.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 05:43 PM   #5
Kerri
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Kerri is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali View Post

There is and always has been such a feature: it is called Publish to Disk and is to be found on the File menu.
Ali thanks for the reply. I think that I should just ask questions here in the forum as the support by telephone is to be honest of no use.
I asked this question before I even purchased WebPlus and I was told no you can't do this so they sent me another two copies of WebPlus for free to give out to my customers (Like I have only got 2 customers...not).
Anyways thanks for your help and this is great to know.
Kerri is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 05:50 PM   #6
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerri View Post
Ali thanks for the reply. I think that I should just ask questions here in the forum as the support by telephone is to be honest of no use.
I asked this question before I even purchased WebPlus and I was told no you can't do this so they sent me another two copies of WebPlus for free to give out to my customers (Like I have only got 2 customers...not).
Anyways thanks for your help and this is great to know.
What you do need to realise, though, is that any changes made in the HTML will not, of course, be reflected in the WP file - is there is a desire to edit later in WP, then you must bear this in mind.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 07:26 PM   #7
Naz
Expert
 
Naz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: A galaxy far far away....
Posts: 5,206
Naz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant future
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Can i suggest folders to help manager larger sites.
__________________
Naz

iPlus360.com || Free downloads || Free PHP script generator
If someone's answer helped, please give them a Positive Reputation vote (second icon bottom left of person)
Naz is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 07:29 PM   #8
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naz View Post
Can i suggest folders to help manager larger sites.
Naz

I can do that now. What I do is just add the folder name to the page file name like this: soaps/lavendar.html.

WebPlus creates the folders for me.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 11th March 2013, 07:32 PM   #9
Naz
Expert
 
Naz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: A galaxy far far away....
Posts: 5,206
Naz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant futureNaz has a brilliant future
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh View Post
Naz

I can do that now. What I do is just add the folder name to the page file name like this: soaps/lavendar.html.

WebPlus creates the folders for me.

haha

a) I never knew that - handy
b) What i meant was in the Site Panel to have folders so that you can group pages.
__________________
Naz

iPlus360.com || Free downloads || Free PHP script generator
If someone's answer helped, please give them a Positive Reputation vote (second icon bottom left of person)
Naz is offline  
Old 16th March 2013, 06:11 PM   #10
Tamutka
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 346
Tamutka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5 updating

Hi,
I am not a big computer expert and I do a lot of corrections. SOmetims files I want to add (html), sometimes I have to correct picture I made. And every time I have to insert it again. For instance in Dreamweaver there is automatic, whenever I correct the original document, the program asks me if should update it.
Thanks
Tamutka is offline  
Old 16th March 2013, 06:28 PM   #11
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5 updating

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamutka View Post
Hi,
I am not a big computer expert and I do a lot of corrections. SOmetims files I want to add (html), sometimes I have to correct picture I made. And every time I have to insert it again. For instance in Dreamweaver there is automatic, whenever I correct the original document, the program asks me if should update it.
Thanks
If I have understood correctly what you want to do, then you need to LINK your image files in the .wpp file, not embed them. So it;s already perfectly possible: if you link your resources, WP will update them each time you launch the file.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 16th March 2013, 07:40 PM   #12
Tamutka
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 346
Tamutka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Thank you, I found out regarding pictures. What about inserting HTML code? Or when making links?
please, see the picture

I am using such files with lightbox.
Thanks
Tamutka is offline  
Old 16th March 2013, 08:01 PM   #13
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamutka View Post
Thank you, I found out regarding pictures. What about inserting HTML code? Or when making links?
please, see the picture

I am using such files with lightbox.
Thanks
Same - do NOT embed the file.

HTML code cannot be linked.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 17th March 2013, 07:55 AM   #14
Tamutka
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 346
Tamutka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Thanks!
Tamutka is offline  
Old 17th March 2013, 03:48 PM   #15
AlmightyWebDesigns
New Member
 
AlmightyWebDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 11
AlmightyWebDesigns is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

I love WebPlus x6, but to keep up with Adobe Muse and other software, there is one extremely important update that needs to be completed. WebPlus x7 needs to have a Mac version! Yes you can run windows on a Mac, but why go backwards, be unable to use many great Mac features, and take up space. I will be finally changing/upgrading to a Mac and was considering switching from WebPlus for this reason. Many Mac users I know in the web design business use other software just for this reason. There would undoubtedly be a whole new Mac user following purchasing WebPlus. As far as other updates, it's simple. Just keep an eye on Adobe Muse and make updates accordingly to stay one, or maybe two steps ahead and WebPlus will not be beat!
AlmightyWebDesigns is offline  
Old 18th March 2013, 01:49 PM   #16
aerialsandtv.com
Regular Member
 
aerialsandtv.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 420
aerialsandtv.com is well on the road to greatness
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

My number one wish for an updated Webplus is an option to order the anchor list* as you want. You should get the option to order it alphabetically or as they appear on page. I`m not exactly sure what order they actually appear in at the moment, but it`s neither of the aforementioned. If you`ve a long page with loads of anchors it`s a pain having to try and find them each time you want to add a link to an anchor.

* I mean the list (of available anchors) that comes up when you try to add a hyperlink.

I`d also like Webplus to stick with the name it gives to an object rather than changing it. If someone on a Forum or where ever links to one of your images then you upload the site and Webplus has changed the object id then your image no longer appears on the Forum, just a little box with a red cross in it......
__________________
Aerials and TV

Last edited by AlfredP; 21st March 2013 at 12:19 AM. Reason: Post moved from PagePlus X7 wishlist
aerialsandtv.com is offline  
Old 18th March 2013, 02:00 PM   #17
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by aerialsandtv.com View Post
My number one wish for an updated Webplus is an option to order the anchor list as you want. You should get the option to order it alphabetically or as they appear on page. I`m not exactly sure what order they actually appear in at the moment, but it`s neither of the aforementioned. If you`ve a long page with loads of anchors it`s a pain having to try and find them each time you want to add a link to an anchor.
I don't understand the problem: are we talking about the Anchor Manager window under Site Manager? If so, then you can click on any of the column headings to sort your anchors: clicking on the Anchor column heading will order them alphabetically.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM


Last edited by AlfredP; 21st March 2013 at 12:20 AM. Reason: Post moved from PagePlus X7 wishlist
Ali is offline  
Old 18th March 2013, 02:02 PM   #18
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali View Post
I don't understand the problem: are we talking about the Anchor Manager window under Site Manager? If so, then you can click on any of the column headings to sort your anchors: clicking on the Anchor column heading will order them alphabetically.
Ali

I suspect his issue is with finding the Anchor he wants to link to when using the Hyperlink wizard/dialog.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome

Last edited by AlfredP; 21st March 2013 at 12:21 AM. Reason: Post moved from PagePlus X7 wishlist
mjh is offline  
Old 18th March 2013, 02:04 PM   #19
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh View Post
Ali

I suspect his issue is with finding the Anchor he wants to link to when using the Hyperlink wizard/dialog.
Ah, yes - well, he needs to make that clear!
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM


Last edited by AlfredP; 21st March 2013 at 12:22 AM. Reason: Post moved from PagePlus X7 wishlist
Ali is offline  
Old 19th March 2013, 12:07 AM   #20
WillB
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
WillB is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #5

Id like the ability to ensure that when you copy a panel to your my designs asset store that the panel will always retain the original name. This is critical if you create a panel (menu) that appears wheever a menu button is clicked and want to be able to repeatedly drag the whole menu in to each new page. Currently, when I drag a pre-created button and menu, all the menus rename and the button actions have to be manually changed, killing any semblence of workflow. A checkbox to switch this behaviour off would be nice.
WillB is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #3 mjh Product Suggestions 179 7th November 2013 01:27 PM
WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #1 Patrick Connor Product Suggestions 145 2nd July 2013 06:39 AM
WebPlus X7 - Wishlist #4 mjh Product Suggestions 112 21st May 2013 12:00 AM
WebPlus X3 Wishlist MartynB Product Suggestions 0 10th September 2008 04:35 PM
Webplus 11 wishlist steve Product Suggestions 0 22nd February 2007 03:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57 PM.