Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > PagePlus

Notices

PagePlus Questions about using PagePlus for desktop publishing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th March 2012, 03:12 AM   #1
John Yate
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
John Yate is on a distinguished road
Default Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

I cannot get a change in the background colour of text boxes. All the colour swatches are presented, but they don't actually update the text box. The help/tutorial materials give no actual help here.
Principle: If I'm doing it wrong its probably because the software is actually unfriendly.
Or does anyone know a way to do this please ?

Last edited by mjh; 26th March 2012 at 03:24 AM. Reason: added version, moved from Font Manager forum
John Yate is offline  
Old 26th March 2012, 03:15 AM   #2
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Yate View Post
I cannot get a change in the background colour of text boxes. All the colour swatches are presented, but they don't actually update the text box. The help/tutorial materials give no actual help here.
Principle: If I'm doing it wrong its probably because the software is actually unfriendly.
Or does anyone know a way to do this please ?
Hi John and welcome to the Serif forums.

What version of PagePlus are you using?
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th March 2012, 03:20 AM   #3
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

Here's how I do it.

I select the text frame by clicking twice on the frame and then in the Swatches tab, I select FILL and then a color.

What method are you doing that is not working?
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th March 2012, 03:22 AM   #4
John Yate
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
John Yate is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

Thank- you - this is in X5..
John Yate is offline  
Old 26th March 2012, 03:33 AM   #5
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,452
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Yate View Post
I cannot get a change in the background colour of text boxes. All the colour swatches are presented, but they don't actually update the text box. The help/tutorial materials give no actual help here.
Principle: If I'm doing it wrong its probably because the software is actually unfriendly.
Or does anyone know a way to do this please ?
John,

You first must select the actual frame, not just some text in it, or with the insert cursor present. You select the frame by clicking on the Move icon at the top left of the frame, or by clicking on the frame's border. The frame will have a solid light blue border when it is correctly selected. Check the hint line.

Then make sure you have selected the Fill icon in the Swatches or Colour tab of the Studio.

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline  
Old 26th March 2012, 01:39 PM   #6
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Page Plus Text Box Formatting Fails

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Blanthorn View Post
You first must select the actual frame, not just some text in it, or with the insert cursor present. You select the frame by clicking on the Move icon at the top left of the frame, or by clicking on the frame's border.
If you find it difficult to click on the frame's border and you don't want to risk moving the frame by clicking on the Move icon, you can click inside the frame (which will give you a text cursor) and then press the Escape key on your keyboard to select the frame itself.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X4: Formatting text Alexander WebPlus 9 8th March 2012 08:56 PM
Text formatting Eva WebPlus 7 26th September 2006 06:44 PM
Formatting text Kath PagePlus 6 26th July 2006 01:49 AM
Text formatting Lyndon WebPlus 4 12th February 2004 02:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:45 PM.