Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > DrawPlus

Notices

DrawPlus Questions about using DrawPlus for vector graphics design

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th April 2013, 02:32 AM   #41
SaphyConcept
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 218
SaphyConcept is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Then it's a Microsoft laxism ?
So, my apologies. I'll wrong perhaps because a friend of mine can use his scanner within his Photoshop under his Windows 64bit. (Windows 7 not 8).

Curious decision from Microsoft, anybody reported that issue to Microsoft or nobody take care of that? :/
SaphyConcept is offline  
Old 4th April 2013, 09:45 AM   #42
Ken Cope
Expert
 
Ken Cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 7,536
Ken Cope is just really niceKen Cope is just really nice
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaphyConcept View Post
Then it's a Microsoft laxism ?
So, my apologies. I'll wrong perhaps because a friend of mine can use his scanner within his Photoshop under his Windows 64bit. (Windows 7 not 8).

Curious decision from Microsoft, anybody reported that issue to Microsoft or nobody take care of that? :/
Perhaps your friend can use WIA with his scanner. Microsoft supports this function but not all scanner manufacturers do. WIA has less functionality than TWAIN.
__________________
Ken (Major Confusion)
Sharing the FUN with Serif software - my site with Serif related tutorials and projects


Windows 10 64bit AMD A10-6700 APU AMD Radeon HD8670D + R7 240 2GB Dual Graphics 16GB DDR3 Ram
Ken Cope is offline  
Old 4th April 2013, 11:07 PM   #43
SaphyConcept
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 218
SaphyConcept is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Oh ok, then it is perhaps the explanation! I will ask to him as soon as possible.
SaphyConcept is offline  
Old 5th April 2013, 08:37 AM   #44
adi
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 203
adi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Newer versions of Photoshop use WIA on windows, Twain support isn't included but is offered as a plugin for the 32bit version of Photoshop for windows only.

Adobe recommend using the software supplied with the scanner and saving images as Tiff files for use in Photoshop rather than using Twain or WIA to import images.
adi is offline  
Old 6th April 2013, 08:08 PM   #45
SaphyConcept
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 218
SaphyConcept is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

I asked him and yes adi, you are right he use WIA not TWAIN... My mistake I tough that it was TWAIN.. Sorry for false answer. (he not use TWAIN even as plugin).

Bad news for Serif's products users.. perhaps you think that Serif must use also WIA then?
SaphyConcept is offline  
Old 7th April 2013, 01:13 PM   #46
Ken Cope
Expert
 
Ken Cope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 7,536
Ken Cope is just really niceKen Cope is just really nice
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaphyConcept View Post
I asked him and yes adi, you are right he use WIA not TWAIN... My mistake I tough that it was TWAIN.. Sorry for false answer. (he not use TWAIN even as plugin).

Bad news for Serif's products users.. perhaps you think that Serif must use also WIA then?
The scanner manufacturers are responsible for providing WIA, so again, it's not Serif's responsibility, but the Scanner manufaturer to provide WIA software. I'm sure that in time the manufacturers will produce good quality WIA drivers/software.

If I had installed the 64bit version then I would use the software that came with my scanner to import images to DP. It's only one more step. As it is I'm still on XP 32bit so Twain is available for me.
__________________
Ken (Major Confusion)
Sharing the FUN with Serif software - my site with Serif related tutorials and projects


Windows 10 64bit AMD A10-6700 APU AMD Radeon HD8670D + R7 240 2GB Dual Graphics 16GB DDR3 Ram
Ken Cope is offline  
Old 9th April 2013, 02:23 PM   #47
SaphyConcept
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 218
SaphyConcept is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Yes true Ken Cope, it's a good workaround So now we must stop this discussion since that threads is not made for that kind of discussion, but thanks (really) for bringing here some precisions like you made
SaphyConcept is offline  
Old 9th April 2013, 11:38 PM   #48
longtimer
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 93
longtimer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

As I started the thread can I just repeat some of my origional points.
If, by installing the 64 bit version, the TWAIN problem will arise, should not this be mentioned before an installation is begun.
Workarounds are all very well but Serif prides itself on the intuitive, ease of use of its software. After 15 years of using Serif software I could use the workarounds but a newcomer or computer beginner (I'm 73) might not be too impressed.
Maybe somewhat incidentally, I tried to solve the problem by uninstalling DrawPlys X6, even cleaned the registery and ran Ccleaner. After all I did have the backup disc and could reinstall the 32 bit version. Big mistake. The backup disc did not work and my download time from Serif had run out. (Unfortunatly I now llive in Australia and the disc had come from 'Cleverbridge'). I have spent three or four days and many emails to Technical and Customer Services trying to sort out the mess. I am hoping this morning I can install the 32 bit version.
longtimer is offline  
Old 10th April 2013, 03:20 PM   #49
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by longtimer View Post
As I started the thread can I just repeat some of my origional points.
If, by installing the 64 bit version, the TWAIN problem will arise, should not this be mentioned before an installation is begun.
Workarounds are all very well but Serif prides itself on the intuitive, ease of use of its software. After 15 years of using Serif software I could use the workarounds but a newcomer or computer beginner (I'm 73) might not be too impressed.
Maybe somewhat incidentally, I tried to solve the problem by uninstalling DrawPlys X6, even cleaned the registery and ran Ccleaner. After all I did have the backup disc and could reinstall the 32 bit version. Big mistake. The backup disc did not work and my download time from Serif had run out. (Unfortunatly I now llive in Australia and the disc had come from 'Cleverbridge'). I have spent three or four days and many emails to Technical and Customer Services trying to sort out the mess. I am hoping this morning I can install the 32 bit version.
Simon Monahan of Serif started the thread to announce the launch of DPX6. You joined the thread several posts later.

As you will realise, I hope, by reading this and other threads, it is not Serif's fault that support for TWAIN has been removed in 64-bit software. Many of us have had to find workarounds in order to be able to use older hardware: I have a TWAIN scanner that I use every day on my Windows 7 PC, which I have deliberately kept at 32-bit so that my scanner and an A3+ format printer will work.

If there is a WIA driver available for your hardware, I understand this will work.

I am sorry that the back-up disk you created of your download failed you, but it isn't really Serif's problem: the responsibility for testing it lay with you.

I am sorry if my comments appear harsh: they are not meant to be, but they do reflect the reality of your situation, I think. You are not the first to have been caught out in this way, and you won't be the last, but I do not agree with you that Serif should have provided any warning, since understanding how the move to 64-bit will affect us is really the end user's responsibility before upgrading.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 01:00 AM   #50
longtimer
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 93
longtimer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

OK. I joined a thread about DrawPlus X6 but I certainly started the TWAIN saga.

I have not blamed Serif just suggested that this problem should be mentioned before people purchase and you seem to agree.

My point about 'Workarounds are all very well but Serif prides itself on the intuitive, ease of use of its software.' still stands.

I did not make the back up disc I said '(Unfortunatly I now llive in Australia and the disc had come from 'Cleverbridge')'. Apparently this is now normal if you pay for Serif software in anything but Sterling. Though in this case I did pay from a UK bank in Sterling.

Serif Technical support have, eventually, been very helpful and I now have the 32 bit version installed but it has taken many emails between them and I.
longtimer is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 11:36 AM   #51
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Anyone have a problem with thumbnails?
JackMac is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 12:15 PM   #52
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMac View Post
Anyone have a problem with thumbnails?
Thumbnails where?
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 12:30 PM   #53
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

In DrawPlus X 6 when I go to file>open I cannot see thumbnails of dpp files. Instead there are serif icons. I have set up the coorect view options on the folder. I have win 7 64 bit. I had no such problems with DrawPlus 5.
JackMac is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 12:40 PM   #54
Foxy
Advanced Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jo'burg - RSA
Posts: 777
Foxy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMac View Post
Anyone have a problem with thumbnails?
Jack,

If you mean that you cannot view a thumbnail when inserting a picture, I think it was removed since version X5?

George
Foxy is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 01:08 PM   #55
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Thanks George, The problem is when I go to file>open I cannot see thumbnails of my dpp files - only the serif icon and the file name. I have set of the folder view options to view thumbnails but I am still only getting the Serif Logo. I have win 7 64 bit. Serif tell me that it is a microsoft problem.
Regards
Dermot
JackMac is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 01:10 PM   #56
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

The problem is when I go to file>open I cannot see thumbnails of my dpp files - only the serif icon and the file name. I have set up the folder view options to view thumbnails but I am still only getting the Serif Logo. I have win 7 64 bit. Serif tell me that it is a microsoft problem.
JackMac is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 05:14 PM   #57
gerrycud
Senior Member
 
gerrycud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,503
gerrycud is a jewel in the roughgerrycud is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMac View Post
The problem is when I go to file>open I cannot see thumbnails of my dpp files - only the serif icon and the file name. I have set up the folder view options to view thumbnails but I am still only getting the Serif Logo. I have win 7 64 bit. Serif tell me that it is a microsoft problem.
It works for me. Do you have your icons set to medium size? Small size only displays the DrawPlus icon for me.
__________________
Gerry C
Intel Core i5 3.20 Ghz, 12 gig RAM, Windows 10 64 bit
gerrycud is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 08:07 PM   #58
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrycud View Post
It works for me. Do you have your icons set to medium size? Small size only displays the DrawPlus icon for me.
The problem is there for all sizes.
Dermot
JackMac is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 08:03 AM   #59
gerrycud
Senior Member
 
gerrycud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,503
gerrycud is a jewel in the roughgerrycud is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMac View Post
The problem is there for all sizes.
Dermot
It may be a Windows setting. Try this. Open a file explorer window and click on "View" at the top. This will open a dialog at the top of the window. Towards the right of that window, click on options. Another dialog will open. Check in the list under the View tab to make sure "Always show icons, never thumbnails" is not selected. See image. Please note, this information is based on the Win 8 environment, but there should be something similar in Win 7. Check your Windows help file for more info. I typed "thumbnail" into the search screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	folder options.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	128.3 KB
ID:	41097  
__________________
Gerry C
Intel Core i5 3.20 Ghz, 12 gig RAM, Windows 10 64 bit
gerrycud is offline  
Old 15th April 2013, 12:40 AM   #60
JackMac
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
JackMac is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Serif Launches DrawPlus X6

Gerry, Thanks for giving some thought to this. I have resolved the problem by uninstalling DrawPlus X6 and re-installing it. So, it's fixed, but I don't know why. Thanks again for your time.
Best Regards
JackMac is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DrawPlus X5: Serif Officially Launches DrawPlus X5 Simon Monahan DrawPlus 30 25th September 2012 06:17 AM
Serif launches PhotoPlus X5! Dale_Cook Serif Announcements 0 12th September 2011 04:20 PM
Serif Officially Launches DrawPlus X5 Simon Monahan Serif Announcements 0 1st August 2011 12:04 PM
Serif Launches DrawPlus X4! Dale_Cook Serif Announcements 0 19th April 2010 10:50 AM
Serif Launches AlbumPlus X4! Simon Monahan Serif Announcements 0 25th January 2010 12:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:50 AM.