Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > MoviePlus

Notices

MoviePlus Questions about using MoviePlus for video editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th June 2014, 04:14 PM   #1
leo
Regular Member
 
leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 237
leo is on a distinguished road
Default Can't write to erased DVD RW

I've a DVD-RW that I've erased but MoviePlus won't write to it, saying it is full.
All the programs I've used to inspect the DVD says it is 'empty' with 0 bytes used.
I can't see a format option in MoviePlus. Any suggestions as to how I prepare the DVD-RW so it can be used in MP?
__________________
I'm out of my depth.
leo is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 05:12 PM   #2
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by leo View Post
I've a DVD-RW that I've erased but MoviePlus won't write to it, saying it is full.
All the programs I've used to inspect the DVD says it is 'empty' with 0 bytes used.
I can't see a format option in MoviePlus. Any suggestions as to how I prepare the DVD-RW so it can be used in MP?
Did you erase this using MoviePlus, or a different DVD program.

MoviePlus sometimes gets confused after it has recently erased a DVD.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 06:46 PM   #3
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,269
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

There are usually two erase options both of which will report empty.

'Quick' erases the disk index

'Full' - physically erases all of the disks contents.

It must be 'Fully' erased if you want to write a 'DVD' to it.
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 08:40 PM   #4
leo
Regular Member
 
leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 237
leo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

I erased it several times to try to get it to work using windows, a dvd writing program Ashampoo. I also used quick erase and also full erase.
Using the 'normal' way of looking at disks via windows shows 0 bytes used and all free, i.e. a 100% pie chart of free.
Since posting I've had message from MP that the empty (?) disk is protected!
I've now shredded it.
Mp works ok with a brand new DVD-RW disc.
__________________
I'm out of my depth.
leo is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 08:46 PM   #5
leo
Regular Member
 
leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 237
leo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Thanks Richard and Alspar.
It seems fully erase doesn't always remove the write protect.
I'm wondering whether the formatting lays down a track system that remains after a full erase so you can't swope uses between dragging and dropping data file and then using the disk as a video DVD.
Fortunately the price of the media means it is no big deal.
Thanks again for your comments, life is too short to pursue it further.
__________________
I'm out of my depth.
leo is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 09:04 PM   #6
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by leo View Post
Thanks Richard and Alspar.
It seems fully erase doesn't always remove the write protect.
I'm wondering whether the formatting lays down a track system that remains after a full erase so you can't swope uses between dragging and dropping data file and then using the disk as a video DVD.
Fortunately the price of the media means it is no big deal.
Thanks again for your comments, life is too short to pursue it further.
I've not had much luck recently with DVD-RW or CD-RW blanks. I normally use write-once blanks.

As far as I remember, MoviePlus does not like erasing DVDs, then immediately writing to them. I think that I had to erase the DVD before re-opening the MoviePlus Export dialogue for the Write process.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 16th June 2014, 11:46 PM   #7
Albert Ross
Regular Member
 
Albert Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 469
Albert Ross has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

I have had no problems writing to RW disks. I use just the one for when I need to experiment on anything, have used it countless times. I always let MVP erase the disk just before it writes to it and everything works fine without a problem.
Albert Ross is offline  
Old 17th June 2014, 12:33 AM   #8
ericlnz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 4,718
ericlnz is just really niceericlnz is just really nice
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

I've not had problems either but Leo mentioned "drag and drop". This involves a disc being formatted differently to normal use and I suspect that it needs to be reformatted, if that is possible, and not just erased before being available for "normal" use.
ericlnz is offline  
Old 19th June 2014, 09:25 PM   #9
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,269
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericlnz View Post
I've not had problems either but Leo mentioned "drag and drop". This involves a disc being formatted differently to normal use and I suspect that it needs to be reformatted, if that is possible, and not just erased before being available for "normal" use.
A 'Full' Erase - should remove the "drag and drop" formatting of a DVDRW - and make it reusable as when it came out of the box - but not all the DVDRW Disk Utilities in programs like MoviPlus will do this correctly.
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline  
Old 19th June 2014, 09:38 PM   #10
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by alspar View Post
A 'Full' Erase - should remove the "drag and drop" formatting of a DVDRW - and make it reusable as when it came out of the box - but not all the DVDRW Disk Utilities in programs like MoviPlus will do this correctly.
Interesting. Which program do you suggest? Does this also vary with DVD burner?
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 19th June 2014, 10:08 PM   #11
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,269
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardS View Post
Interesting. Which program do you suggest? Does this also vary with DVD burner?
The burner should be irrelevant - provided of course it supports the type of DVD you are using.

There are also differences between DVD-RW and DVD+RW for example.

DVD+RW supports drag and drop and DVD-RW does not.

The quality of the disks themselves can be a factor.

The best software to use is usually the one that came with Burner - usually Roxio or Nero.

Personally, I use CyberLink Power2Go - and it has always worked for me.

I also only use DVD+RW and DVD+R disks.
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline  
Old 19th June 2014, 10:14 PM   #12
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by alspar View Post
The burner should be irrelevant - provided of course it supports the type of DVD you are using.

There are also differences between DVD-RW and DVD+RW for example.

DVD+RW supports drag and drop and DVD-RW does not.

The quality of the disks themselves can be a factor.

The best software to use is usually the one that came with Burner - usually Roxio or Nero.

Personally, I use CyberLink Power2Go - and it has always worked for me.

I also only use DVD+RW and DVD+R disks.
Thanks.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 28th June 2014, 02:52 PM   #13
ggrussell
Expert
 
ggrussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryville, TN USA
Posts: 8,104
ggrussell is a jewel in the roughggrussell is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Can't write to erased DVD RW

Imgburn is free and can do a 'Quick' or 'full' erase.
__________________
Intel i7 4770k OC 4.2Ghz, 16GB, Kingston 240GB SSD, Hitachi 1.5TB HD, ATI HD7870, Sony TD20 3D, Sony SLT-A65VK for still images, Windows 8.1 Pro Media Center, 64bit
Gary Russell -- TN USA
ggrussell is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X6: Write ID... rgfischerjr WebPlus 2 11th May 2013 06:55 AM
Can't write to disc or write to file James MoviePlus 5 31st August 2011 10:48 PM
Write Your Own Novel wasahbe General 2 2nd February 2008 05:53 PM
What I write changes fredfmah PagePlus 4 9th June 2007 09:26 PM
could not write value to key Bowie Curry WebPlus 4 18th January 2007 06:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:24 AM.