Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > Web Hosting

Notices

Web Hosting Questions about using or uploading to your hosting from WebPlus.net or other providers

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th December 2013, 10:27 AM   #1
s t kilvington
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 76
s t kilvington is on a distinguished road
Default Uploading with SEO ?

Could anyone please help me :-
I need to upload an updated version of my website. However, I do not want to loose my rating.
What bit of SEO code, do I add and where to ??
__________________
http://www.sportsbiking.co.uk/
s t kilvington is offline  
Old 6th December 2013, 11:27 AM   #2
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Uploading with SEO ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by s t kilvington View Post
Could anyone please help me :-
I need to upload an updated version of my website. However, I do not want to loose my rating.
What bit of SEO code, do I add and where to ??
Not so much a question of adding anything: More a matter of making sure that your new website uses the same HTML file names for its webpages and the same folder structure as the old one. If you have deleted some obsolete pages, consider replacing these with redirect pages or instructions so that incoming links are not "broken."

If you are relying on any image search or eg. Pinterest links to bring traffic. It is better to choose your own file names for those images. Otherwise, WebPlus will probably generate new file names each time the website is updated.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 8th December 2013, 09:55 AM   #3
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Uploading with SEO ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardS View Post
If you are relying on any image search or eg. Pinterest links to bring traffic. It is better to choose your own file names for those images. Otherwise, WebPlus will probably generate new file names each time the website is updated.
I don't think the WP-generated name should change if the image hasn't changed, but it's probably safer to choose your own file names just to be sure.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 8th December 2013, 09:57 AM   #4
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 23,983
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Uploading with SEO ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredP View Post
I don't think the WP-generated name should change if the image hasn't changed, but it's probably safer to choose your own file names just to be sure.

Alfred
It does, though. These names are re-generated each time you upload. I never let WP name my images.
__________________
Ali
Win 10 64-bit | Toshiba Laptop with Intel Core i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz & 16GB RAM
Win 10 Pro 64-bit | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM

Ali is offline  
Old 8th December 2013, 10:07 AM   #5
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Uploading with SEO ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali View Post
It does, though. These names are re-generated each time you upload. I never let WP name my images.
Now you come to mention it, recent versions of WP seem to do things like changing 'wp598e2efd_05.png' to 'wp598e2efd_06.png' from one iteration to the next. I don't think earlier versions had suffixes like '_06'.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uploading ftp dave ball WebPlus 6 2nd October 2008 09:24 AM
FTP Uploading Cheryl PagePlus 4 19th May 2008 11:47 AM
uploading web plus 8 barbara WebPlus 29 30th June 2006 04:33 PM
Uploading to aol Smithawark WebPlus 3 8th March 2006 08:26 PM
uploading to AOL len wiggins WebPlus 24 4th January 2006 09:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.