Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > Web Hosting

Notices

Web Hosting Questions about using or uploading to your hosting from WebPlus.net or other providers

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th March 2014, 10:17 AM   #1
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Is my website accessible?

I have moved my website to 1and1 this weekend.
They tell me the DNS transfer has taken place and I have reloaded all the files to the webspace and can see them in FTP transfer and 1and1 control panel.

I just can't access it in my browser.
Can a few of you kindly check the link below and let me know if you also get error 404.

Thanks

www.brand-newhomes.co.uk
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex

Last edited by Jasper; 17th March 2014 at 12:05 PM.
Jasper is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:21 AM   #2
nfc212
Master
 
nfc212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 14,863
nfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

The link above gives a 404 error.

What is the name of the home page, is it index.html or have you set it to something else?

Also what folder did you upload it to?
nfc212 is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:21 AM   #3
ericlnz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 4,718
ericlnz is just really niceericlnz is just really nice
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

Yes 404 with Firefox.
ericlnz is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:23 AM   #4
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

the folder is /brand-newhomes.co.uk
home pageis index.htm although I have re directs in place.
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex
Jasper is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:31 AM   #5
nfc212
Master
 
nfc212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 14,863
nfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

The Whois page for your domain shows that the DNS points to 1&1 but the Server Stats tab shows the hosting to be still with Fasthosts

http://whois.domaintools.com/brand-newhomes.co.uk

I would suggest dealing with the Fasthosts and 1&1 support directly.
nfc212 is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:55 AM   #6
nfc212
Master
 
nfc212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 14,863
nfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

It may have been better if you had posted this in the Web Hosting section.

Perhaps a mod can move it for you. It will likely get more attention and help there.
nfc212 is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 10:56 AM   #7
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

Interesting?
I wouldnt be surprised if Streamline/fasthost parting shot was to mess me about with the DNS transfer as well. Their suppoprt and service is dire!
I have contacted both hosts and asked for this to be resolved.

Thank you for your help and support.
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex
Jasper is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 11:02 AM   #8
nfc212
Master
 
nfc212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 14,863
nfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond reputenfc212 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my websitre accessible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
Interesting?
I wouldnt be surprised if Streamline/fasthost parting shot was to mess me about with the DNS transfer as well. Their suppoprt and service is dire!
I have contacted both hosts and asked for this to be resolved.

Thank you for your help and support.
I have heard of some hosts messing departing clients about like this. I read one report on another forum of a host taking 6 months to release a domain name. A Scotland based outfit with so many client complaints the local Trading Standards department has assigned them their own dedicated officer.
nfc212 is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 11:59 AM   #9
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible

I am leaving the domain with Streamline/Fasthosts as it is registered until, May 2022.

I don't want to be paying for registration every year with 1and1.

For anyone else reading this, take my advice and steer clear of Streamline aka Fasthosts for your website hosting.

Interestingly, I can still access my website files ar Streamilne using FileZiller
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex

Last edited by Jasper; 17th March 2014 at 12:05 PM.
Jasper is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 02:57 PM   #10
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Is my website accessible

Quote:
Originally Posted by nfc212 View Post
It may have been better if you had posted this in the Web Hosting section.

Perhaps a mod can move it for you. It will likely get more attention and help there.
Thread moved from the General forum.

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 17th March 2014, 06:37 PM   #11
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,269
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

Are you adding the external domain to an existing 1 & 1 Account or a new one?

The nameservers you entered for the transfer - were they the ones you were given when you started the External Domain link at 1 & 1 or the ones in 1 & 1 Help - they may not be the same - particularly if you are adding to an existing account.
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 12:08 PM   #12
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

It's all working now!
Alan you are right, I was adding the external domain to my existing 1and1 account.
I did get the DNS nameservers right. But I mis-typed the directory that the my website was in.
I called it "brand-newhomes.co.uk" and left off the ".co.uk" in the settings!

Problem was no one from 1and1 offered any help at all until 48 hours after I found why and got it working myself.

It seems more reliable server/database so far - fingers crossed!

Thanks for all your help everyone.
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex

Last edited by AlfredP; 22nd March 2014 at 03:25 PM. Reason: Corrected typo
Jasper is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 12:23 PM   #13
terrynjones
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 173
terrynjones is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

I can see your website alright

As for for your opinions on streamline I think you will find that this a splinter type of company ie a franchise and NOT fasthosts themselves as for fasthosts I have a re seller account with them and currently host 10 sites with them never had a problem with uptime or there service center to be honest. I suppose everybody as thier opinion.

as for your site designed by you I liked the other version better maybe the begining of last year ?? and as you designed it via your design company impluse which is my next point why do you have webcreaation banner at the top of that site surly that will take business away from you ??

as for your home selling site ask for a site critiqu as there is two much blue for me .
terrynjones is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 12:25 PM   #14
terrynjones
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 173
terrynjones is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

1 and 1 is also fasthosts
terrynjones is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 12:38 PM   #15
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrynjones View Post
1 and 1 is also fasthosts
Streamline.net was acquired by fasthost in 2008 - two years after I first uploaded my original website.

As far as I have discovered, 1and1's parent compnay Germany United. then acquired Fasthosts.
A bit like BMW buying Skoda. Just because BMW owns Skoda it doesnt mean BMW's are Skodas!

If you are happy with Fasthots good for you!
All I know is Streamline's support service was rubbish and the databases unreliable.
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex

Last edited by Jasper; 22nd March 2014 at 01:13 PM.
Jasper is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 12:48 PM   #16
Jasper
Regular Member
 
Jasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 467
Jasper is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrynjones View Post
...as for your site designed by you I liked the other version better maybe the begining of last year ?? and as you designed it via your design company impluse which is my next point why do you have webcreaation banner at the top of that site surly that will take business away from you ??

as for your home selling site ask for a site critiqu as there is two much blue for me .
I am not sure what you mean!
The brand-newhomes.co.uk website has not changed design since 2012. There have been many content reviions and new pages since.
The Home Owner's Forum part of it is not a "home selling site" website, neither is my blog website new-home-blog.co.uk (which is yellow.)

Colour is a persioanl choice, visitors to my website come for the information and advice, as long as they can read it clearly that is what is important and no one [else] has ever sauid they don't like to colours on any of my websites.

As for advertising a rival website creator, my ads are driven by Google and your browser will show ads to you based on your web searches and interests - such ads do change too.
__________________
The information website for UK new home buyers Brand New Homes
Impulse Web Design - The website designer in Sussex
Jasper is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 03:45 PM   #17
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,269
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
It's all working now!
Alan you are right, I was adding the external domain to my existing 1and1 account.
I did get the DNS nameservers right. But I mis-typed the directory that the my website was in.
I called it "brand-newhomes.co.uk" and left off the ".co.uk" in the settings!

Problem was no one from 1and1 offered any help at all until 48 hours after I found why and got it working myself.

It seems more reliable server/database so far - fingers crossed!

Thanks for all your help everyone.
I had noticed you had sorted the problem.

I type and keep all the details such as the folder etc. for each website in a spreadsheet - I then copy and paste from that spreadsheet to wherever each piece of info is needed. Never made a mistake since I started doing that. (Cough cough years ago
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline  
Old 22nd March 2014, 06:22 PM   #18
terrynjones
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 173
terrynjones is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is my website accessible?

streamline was a fasthosts reller formed in 2008 a brakeaway company form dellerware internet fasthosts.co.uk who bought streamline.net's custermer base fasthosts.co.uk sold out to United Internet AG for 90 million euros (£61mill) in 1999, or more to the point, sold out to Ralph Dummermuth, the German internet billionare who founded '1 und1' and who is the main shareholder of the owning company United Internet Ag.

So yes fasthosts streamline and 1 and 1 are all the same company
terrynjones is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebPlus X5: Nav bar top line not accessible david@ferrartis.com WebPlus 2 23rd January 2014 11:18 PM
Is my website accessible? Jasper General 25 1st June 2011 06:12 AM
WebPlus X2: Accessible webs aidanc WebPlus 2 25th February 2010 12:51 AM
Accessible web sites David WebPlus 1 25th June 2008 01:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05 PM.