Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Design and Publishing > WebPlus

Notices

WebPlus Questions about using WebPlus for website design

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th September 2009, 05:50 PM   #1
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Client Login for a newbie

I am creating a photography website and I want to creat a client login in page that will take a client to a unique page that has their portraits for viewing and ordering. How can I go about doing this? THANKS
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 06:49 PM   #2
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Hi sprytee

Welcome to the Serif forums.

Make a page for each client.

Go to SmartObjects and make an AccessControl

In the Access Control, make a GROUP for each client.

Go back to the client page > Page Properties > PageSecurity tab > tick protect pae and Click Change Manage and select the appropriate client group.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 07:13 PM   #3
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

I tried that but when I view the site through explorer and I do the login it it says page not found??
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 07:17 PM   #4
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Make sure you are using preview SITE not page.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 07:20 PM   #5
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

ok...more info....what i want it 1 main page that will be the client log in then each client would have their user name & password that would take them to another page that displayes their portraots.....is that possible?
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 07:34 PM   #6
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Yes, just make one page per client and in Access Control, one group per client.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 07:58 PM   #7
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

i am ready to give up...it is just not working. I am select preview SITE but it still says HTTP 404 Not Found.
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:06 PM   #8
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Don't give up

What version of WP are you using?
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:07 PM   #9
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

X2
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:08 PM   #10
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

K

Lemme see if I can set up a file for you.......... but it may take a while as I am grilling and etc.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:10 PM   #11
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

should I be typing something in the redierect after login in space?
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:11 PM   #12
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

On which dialog? Page Properties or Access Control?
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:15 PM   #13
Martin Taylor
Expert
 
Martin Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Herts, UK
Posts: 5,868
Martin Taylor has a brilliant futureMartin Taylor has a brilliant futureMartin Taylor has a brilliant futureMartin Taylor has a brilliant future
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by sprytee View Post
i am ready to give up...it is just not working. I am select preview SITE but it still says HTTP 404 Not Found.
Don't give up!

The example file I've attached doesn't use SWR groups or page protection at all. It's all built in to the site, and will work as long as you have PHP available to you on your hosting.

I've got a working example online at http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages.

You can sign in as any one of three clients (A, B and C). Once you are signed in, you can go to "My page" without signing in again - the site remembers who you are, until you close your browser.

You can try going directly to one of the protected pages but it will give you the login page instead. Try http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages/clienta.php, for example.

Edit: Now updated to allow more than one page per client.
Attached Files
File Type: wpp clientpages.wpp (25.4 KB, 618 views)
__________________
Martin

Last edited by Martin Taylor; 27th September 2009 at 12:09 PM. Reason: Updated to allow several pages per client
Martin Taylor is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:18 PM   #14
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh View Post
On which dialog? Page Properties or Access Control?
access control
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:24 PM   #15
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Taylor View Post
Don't give up!

The example file I've attached doesn't use SWR groups or page protection at all. It's all built in to the site, and will work as long as you have PHP available to you on your hosting.

I've got a working example online at http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages.

You can sign in as any one of three clients (A, B and C). Once you are signed in, you can go to "My page" without signing in again - the site remembers who you are, until you close your browser.

You can try going directly to one of the protected pages but it will give you the login page instead. Try http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages/clienta.php, for example.
THAT IS WHAT I WANT...NOT TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO DO IT! UGH! It would have been so much easier to pay someone to do this!
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:51 PM   #16
Tom.
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21,615
Tom. is a splendid one to beholdTom. is a splendid one to beholdTom. is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Hello sprytee.

Folks on these forums go the extra mile to sort user's problems so have patience while they get there, your use of caps looks like your shouting
Tom. is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:54 PM   #17
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomR View Post
Hello sprytee.

Folks on these forums go the extra mile to sort user's problems so have patience while they get there, your use of caps looks like your shouting
The shouting was in excitment becuase it is exactally what I want to do....now to figure it out...
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 08:56 PM   #18
Tom.
Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21,615
Tom. is a splendid one to beholdTom. is a splendid one to beholdTom. is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Then I misunderstood and apologise.
Tom. is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 09:00 PM   #19
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomR View Post
Then I misunderstood and apologise.
No problem...I have been at this since 9am this morning anf it is now 4pm...so the frustration is setting in! You can imagine my surprize when the last person showed me exatally what I wanted!
sprytee is offline  
Old 26th September 2009, 09:01 PM   #20
sprytee
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
sprytee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Client Login for a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Taylor View Post
Don't give up!

The example file I've attached doesn't use SWR groups or page protection at all. It's all built in to the site, and will work as long as you have PHP available to you on your hosting.

I've got a working example online at http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages.

You can sign in as any one of three clients (A, B and C). Once you are signed in, you can go to "My page" without signing in again - the site remembers who you are, until you close your browser.

You can try going directly to one of the protected pages but it will give you the login page instead. Try http://www.martintaylor.co.uk/clientpages/clienta.php, for example.
*headscratch* What is PHP? Oh I am a newbie at this! Thanks in advance!!
sprytee is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
client login

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 AM.