Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Older Software > Digital Scrapbook Artist

Notices

Digital Scrapbook Artist Digital Scrapbooking Software

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th January 2012, 01:23 PM   #1
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Hi All I am looking at building a new website and want to use some of the picture frames etc from scrapbook artist 2. But every time I copy and paste the photo frame etc over onto the webplus page it has a white background behind it that I can't get rid of. Also in the photo frame is a serif photo I can't shift. Have been wreastling with it all for ages....frustrating!! and serif themselves are offering no advice because it is older software????

Any advice and help much appreciated, thanks!!
centaur therapies is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:26 PM   #2
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur therapies View Post
Hi All I am looking at building a new website and want to use some of the picture frames etc from scrapbook artist 2. But every time I copy and paste the photo frame etc over onto the webplus page it has a white background behind it that I can't get rid of. Also in the photo frame is a serif photo I can't shift. Have been wreastling with it all for ages....frustrating!! and serif themselves are offering no advice because it is older software????

Any advice and help much appreciated, thanks!!
While you are in Scrapbook Artist, try selecting the picture frame and exporting it as a .png file to your drive. Then, from WPX4, try INSERT > PICTURE, and see if that does what you want.



Lon in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:41 PM   #3
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

thanks for the reply but have NO idea how to do that or what a png file is or how to go about it? I am pretty new to all this stuff.
centaur therapies is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur therapies View Post
thanks for the reply but have NO idea how to do that or what a png file is or how to go about it? I am pretty new to all this stuff.
No problem. Follow this recipe:


- open Scrapbook artist
- select the item you want to transfer over to WP
- Click FILE > EXPORT > EXPORT AS IMAGE and select PNG (Portable Network Graphics) and save this file to your hard drive....some place you'll remember, or into a specific folder you've set up for these items.
- open WebPlus
- Click on INSERT > PICTURE > FROM FILE. Browse to the file you saved and drop it onto your WebPlus workspace.


I don't have Scrapbook Artist on this computer any longer, so the wording of the menu items might vary a little from the above. I'm working from memory, which is hazy at this early hour, I'm afraid...and many of the later hours, too.


Lon "see if that works" in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:55 PM   #5
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

many thanks and much appreciate will try it in a minute and let you know if it has worked :-)
centaur therapies is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:59 PM   #6
mjh
The one and only mjh
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 74,639
mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)mjh has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lon in California View Post
No problem. Follow this recipe:


- open Scrapbook artist
- select the item you want to transfer over to WP
- Click FILE > EXPORT > EXPORT AS IMAGE and select PNG (Portable Network Graphics) and save this file to your hard drive....some place you'll remember, or into a specific folder you've set up for these items.
- open WebPlus
- Click on INSERT > PICTURE > FROM FILE. Browse to the file you saved and drop it onto your WebPlus workspace.


I don't have Scrapbook Artist on this computer any longer, so the wording of the menu items might vary a little from the above. I'm working from memory, which is hazy at this early hour, I'm afraid...and many of the later hours, too.


Lon "see if that works" in California

Make sure that 32 bit PNG is selected in Export Picture to support the transparency.
__________________
---------------
T9900, 8 GB RAM, 512 vidram, WIN 7 Ult 64-bit - Chrome
mjh is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:59 PM   #7
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Not working it is saving everything in colour around it now rather than just having the white area behind it?
centaur therapies is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 01:59 PM   #8
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur therapies View Post
many thanks and much appreciate will try it in a minute and let you know if it has worked :-)
I did forget to mention that when you are doing the exporting from Scrapbook Artist, make sure that the 32-bit radio button is ticked, if you are offered that choice, so that your image maintains its transparency. Otherwise, you'll get the same white background you mentioned up top.


Lon "totally transparent" in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 02:02 PM   #9
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur therapies View Post
Not working it is saving everything in colour around it now rather than just having the white area behind it?
Can't remember....


Aren't you offered the choice in the SAVE dialog to:

- save selected items
- save area

If you are, then you need to tick "save selected items", or you'll get the background as well.



Lon "been too long out of SBA" in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 02:05 PM   #10
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Played about and hooray! got it sussed now, many thanks Lon, I've been trying for several hours over the days and my eyes were starting to glaze over a bit!
centaur therapies is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 02:06 PM   #11
Lon in NWArkansas
Master
 
Lon in NWArkansas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 12,688
Lon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to beholdLon in NWArkansas is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur therapies View Post
Played about and hooray! got it sussed now, many thanks Lon, I've been trying for several hours over the days and my eyes were starting to glaze over a bit!

Glad to hear (not about the eyes!) that you are getting this sorted. Not only is SBA just a terrific digital playground, but like you, I often borrow things from CraftArtist in my case, to use on websites.

Enjoy, and come back if there are issues you need help with.


Thanks for the assist, Marilyn.



Lon in California
__________________
Dell XPS 8300 | Win7 Home Premium 64-bit | Core i7-2600 @ 3.4ghz w/8GB RAM | 1GB AMD Radeon 6450 Graphics
Lon in NWArkansas is offline  
Old 10th January 2012, 05:51 PM   #12
centaur therapies
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
centaur therapies is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to get digikit items on to webplus x4 ?

Thanks Lon thats really kind of you well I guess I will be pretty busy now tonight....!!
centaur therapies is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webplus X4: I can only see top of Quickbuilder bar drag items Tinribs1970 WebPlus 2 9th September 2011 09:15 AM
WebPlus X4: exchanging gallery items - webplus issue? lhain2 WebPlus 2 13th March 2011 01:00 AM
Deletion of Digikit Quack Digital Scrapbook Artist 3 23rd December 2010 09:08 PM
Importing Items Into A DigiKit Category by Item (Instead of By Folder) djtn Digital Scrapbook Artist 4 31st August 2010 04:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 PM.