Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > MoviePlus

Notices

MoviePlus Questions about using MoviePlus for video editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th November 2011, 11:21 AM   #1
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Default Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

I'm really considering buying this video editing software but i need to know if you can create snow and rain on it?
lorib949 is offline  
Old 13th November 2011, 02:42 PM   #2
vshears
Advanced Member
 
vshears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brading, Isle of Wight
Posts: 864
vshears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

As far as I know MPX5 does not come supplied with any snow or rain effects.

However it is fully capable of utilising snow or rain overlays that can be purchased or even downloaded for free.

I believe most of these overlays are created in After Effects? if you want to create your own perhaps you should consider purchasing that?
__________________
Vic
vshears is offline  
Old 13th November 2011, 03:14 PM   #3
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Thank-you!
Can you please tell me were I can find the snow or rain overlays to download for free?
lorib949 is offline  
Old 13th November 2011, 06:09 PM   #4
vshears
Advanced Member
 
vshears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brading, Isle of Wight
Posts: 864
vshears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Well TBH I could not find the main site I was thinking of

However you can download a few from .....

http://www.detonationfilms.com/free_stuff_page_3.htm

also if you do a search on youtube for snow overlays you will find some free ones with a link to where you may download them.

Note the trick with overlays like the ones from detonation films is to change the Blend Mode of the overlay track to screen in Properties.

Hope this helps?
__________________
Vic
vshears is offline  
Old 14th November 2011, 06:02 PM   #5
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

sorry to bug you again but I am really new to this and I wonder if I could ask your help on this.

I am thinking of downloading this snow effect from youtube (its free!) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkaY9...eature=related
and then I want to put it into a video I am hoping to make.

But the thing is, at the minute I only have to Free MoviePlus Starter Edition. Will this still work on this and if so could you please explain to me how to get it to work?

Thank-you.
lorib949 is offline  
Old 14th November 2011, 06:56 PM   #6
vshears
Advanced Member
 
vshears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brading, Isle of Wight
Posts: 864
vshears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Hi

I have just followed the links to download this particular "snow effect" and unfortunately what I got was an After Effects Template which seems to be useless without After Effects

Perhaps you could contact the author and get them to send you the exported MP4 file?
__________________
Vic
vshears is offline  
Old 14th November 2011, 07:57 PM   #7
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Yeah ok I'll try that!
But say I have a snow/rain effect like the ones from that website you mentioned before and now I want to use them on MoviePlus Starter Edition how do I do that?
I tried going to properties to change the Blend Mode to screen but I can't find that in it :/ Any Ideas?
lorib949 is offline  
Old 14th November 2011, 08:17 PM   #8
vshears
Advanced Member
 
vshears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brading, Isle of Wight
Posts: 864
vshears is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

I have just tried and yes it is possible with the starter edition. To make the overlay work you have to select properties and click on the Track name, look at the attatched screen capture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SnowOverlay.JPG
Views:	165
Size:	125.3 KB
ID:	27665  
__________________
Vic

Last edited by vshears; 14th November 2011 at 11:57 PM. Reason: Typing error.
vshears is offline  
Old 14th November 2011, 08:35 PM   #9
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Thank You so MUCH!
lorib949 is offline  
Old 15th November 2011, 06:48 AM   #10
Tigger
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Tigger is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Hi Lori,
I'm new to the product and the forum too and I can honestly say (after trying oodles of video editing programs and I'm not a video tech head) go ahead and purchase the product. You will not be disappointed. I have been able to work out all the basics and then some with no trouble. And the support in this forum is great.

PLUS you get other products at fantastic prices.

I am really happy with this purchase.
Tigger is offline  
Old 19th November 2011, 02:46 PM   #11
lorib949
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
lorib949 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

have you tried the green screen on MoviePlus X5?
I really want to use green screen and i need some feedback on it to see if it is worth buying?
lorib949 is offline  
Old 19th November 2011, 06:58 PM   #12
Mike Brett
Advanced Member
 
Mike Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Crediton UK
Posts: 735
Mike Brett is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

The green screen works well, but it's not magic - even professionals have to be careful with lighting, and avoid creases etc in the fabric by tensioning it evenly. There is an awful lot of good advice on the web about good green screen procedures. If you take care with setting up your shot, MoviePlus comes up with excellent results. Don't expect brilliant results first time - you'll need to get some practice in! Good Luck.

- Mike -
__________________
(Intel i5-2500 W7 Home Prem 64b)
Mike Brett is offline  
Old 21st November 2011, 12:13 PM   #13
Tigger
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Tigger is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you Create SNOW and RAIN on MoviePlus X5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorib949 View Post
have you tried the green screen on MoviePlus X5?
I really want to use green screen and i need some feedback on it to see if it is worth buying?
Ooooh... I forgot about that feature.. .no sorry I haven't used it.
Tigger is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snow BrianE General 55 28th February 2011 09:28 PM
DrawPlus X4: Rain Effect colinstables@gmail.com DrawPlus 1 13th January 2011 10:50 PM
Here Comes the Wind & Rain. Jim B. General 6 30th August 2009 12:23 PM
Create falling snow Michael Coombs WebPlus 30 27th November 2007 12:10 AM
Does It Ever Rain In The UK? Jim B. General 9 21st August 2004 08:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 PM.