Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > MoviePlus

Notices

MoviePlus Questions about using MoviePlus for video editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd June 2014, 07:39 PM   #1
aNDI
Regular Member
 
aNDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Essex boy
Posts: 163
aNDI is on a distinguished road
Default movie record size

I have just got my new 650d canon.On the movie record size I have 4 options.

1920 x 1080 25fps
1920 x 1080 24fps
1280 x 720 50fps
640 x 480 25 fps

I shot some movie at 1920 x 1080 and uploaded it to movie plus x3 I made changes to the defaults in the project settings vto 1920 1080 25fps and edited my video. When I went to export the video to file i chose WMV which it what i normally use. I chose HDV 1080 3oi hoping to get the very best from my footage.

I then get the error message Error writing media samples, Am I doing some thing wrong???

The second question is simple, the camera gives me the opportunity to use 1280 50fps. When would I need to use the extra frame rate.

Many thanks aNDI
aNDI is offline  
Old 22nd June 2014, 09:34 PM   #2
MikeR
Senior Member
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,786
MikeR is a glorious beacon of lightMikeR is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: novie record size

Although it depends upon what you intend to do with the output files I would not generally recommend changing the frame rate from the one you capture. 1280 x 720fps will obviously give a lower resolution but will be better for capturing fast motion.
__________________
Mike

Medion MD8833 with Intel Q6600 + 3GB. Win 7 64 Ultimate SP1.

MikeR is offline  
Old 22nd June 2014, 10:56 PM   #3
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: novie record size

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Although it depends upon what you intend to do with the output files I would not generally recommend changing the frame rate from the one you capture. 1280 x 720fps will obviously give a lower resolution but will be better for capturing fast motion.
Agreed:

- 24 FPS is "film mode" which some people claim makes the video "feel" more like a Hollywood movie.
- 25 FPS is the normal PAL mode for UK & Europe etc.
- ~30 FPS is the normal NTSC mode, for USA & Japan etc.
- 50 FPS is setting for "money no object" PAL type HD.
- ~60 FPS is setting for "money no object" NTSC type HD.

Provided that everything, from the camera to the display device, can handle the higher frame rates, 50FPS & 60FPS should give smoother video of moving objects.

I guess that the 24FPS mode is more useful to people who'd otherwise use 30FPS: It's hard to believe that many people would notice a difference between 24FPS and 25FPS.

But some web video hosting services may use 24FPS: As well as being popular with "film" buffs, it is far more efficient for web video than 30FPS.

Vimeo used to support only 24FPS. It had a horrible conversion method for 25FPS videos: It simply dropped one frame per second.

As advised by MikeR, always try to shoot video at its final frame rate: Every conversion takes time and reduces the final quality.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 23rd June 2014, 01:46 AM   #4
ericlnz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 4,718
ericlnz is just really niceericlnz is just really nice
Default Re: movie record size

Also aNDI is using X3 which is a few years behind the times now and may have problems with rendering HD that later versions of MVP don't.
ericlnz is offline  
Old 24th June 2014, 04:04 AM   #5
aNDI
Regular Member
 
aNDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Essex boy
Posts: 163
aNDI is on a distinguished road
Default Re: movie record size

Thank you all for your help that helps.
aNDI is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MoviePlus X5: exporting movie: frame size setting simoncg MoviePlus 9 4th February 2014 02:28 PM
WebPlus X6: How to adjust the size (viewing) of a movie on the website Bart WebPlus 0 20th September 2013 03:46 PM
Is this a record? jacksjacobs General 1 22nd July 2013 09:54 PM
WebPlus X6: A record? richosr WebPlus 0 8th May 2013 08:51 AM
Can you upload any movie file to ImpactPlus for movie effects? Jason ImpactPlus / 3DPlus 1 6th September 2006 08:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18 PM.