Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > PanoramaPlus

Notices

PanoramaPlus Questions about using PanoramaPlus for digital image stitching

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th April 2012, 12:46 AM   #1
magiceye
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
magiceye is on a distinguished road
Default Thought the paid one would work

Tried the free Panaorama was not impressed, now on X4 and paid for, thought it would be different entirely, all that has changed is not constant pestering about upgrading. Why did i bother, it sucks, sorry but it does not pick up and allow for anything other than perfection which you could do in the lens in one shot, no flexibility, just a frustrating message about no reference points. Sorry Serif this is a failure, big time.
magiceye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 11:11 PM   #2
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,210
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceye View Post
.... message about no reference points.
All panorama stitching programs (including those inbuilt into digital cameras) require matching reference points.
In other words the images on adjacent pictures must overlap - usually by as much as 20% - for the stitching to work.
__________________
Alan

Last edited by alspar; 22nd April 2012 at 12:26 AM. Reason: typo
alspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 12:53 AM   #3
magiceye
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
magiceye is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

I appreciate what you have said and totally understand that reasoning and requirement for the program to function. My recent capture was one of the same person three times on a balcony, with reference points all along and plenty of overlap, it made no difference the program could not stitch them together. It appears that it can only deal with the most basic of vistas which for the price I can understand, but what I do not understand is when there are the overlaps and points in all individual pictures then why does it not do what it says on the tin every time, to get a message and not able to move on is frustrating and basically "cheating" the customer.
magiceye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 07:28 AM   #4
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,333
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceye View Post
My recent capture was one of the same person three times on a balcony, with reference points all along and plenty of overlap,
Were they all taken from the same position?

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 08:56 AM   #5
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 23,890
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceye View Post
I appreciate what you have said and totally understand that reasoning and requirement for the program to function. My recent capture was one of the same person three times on a balcony, with reference points all along and plenty of overlap, it made no difference the program could not stitch them together. It appears that it can only deal with the most basic of vistas which for the price I can understand, but what I do not understand is when there are the overlaps and points in all individual pictures then why does it not do what it says on the tin every time, to get a message and not able to move on is frustrating and basically "cheating" the customer.
Can you perhaps attach low-res versions of the three images here? By seeing them, someone may be able to spot what the problem is. Did you use a tripod when taking the pictures?
__________________
Ali
Did I help you? If so, you could add to my reputation (click the scales icon on the left). Thanks!
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM
WPX2-6 SITES: The Falcon Inn (X6) | Martin Sexton - Artist (X2) | Clover Greetings
(X6)
Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 09:54 AM   #6
Ali
Guru
 
Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rushmere St Andrew, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 23,890
Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)Ali has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Sorry, what

Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerDust View Post
I am very appreciated
Welcome to the forums! I am glad that you are appreciated. Which Serif titles do you use and how?
__________________
Ali
Did I help you? If so, you could add to my reputation (click the scales icon on the left). Thanks!
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 | Samsung Laptop with Intel Core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz & 8GB RAM
WPX2-6 SITES: The Falcon Inn (X6) | Martin Sexton - Artist (X2) | Clover Greetings
(X6)
Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 11:41 AM   #7
Photo Pete
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Photo Pete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

I have the same problem when using photos from my high end Nikon D700 DSLR, but I don't have a problem when I use my pocket camera Fuji FinePix E510. With the Nikon the PanoramaPlus can't even detect similar features in two almost identical photos when taken from exactly the same position, whereas with the Fuji, PanoramaPlus seems to be able to stitch photos of the same scene, with possible only 10% overlap, but taken in slightly different locations.
Photo Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 08:15 PM   #8
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,333
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo Pete View Post
I have the same problem when using photos from my high end Nikon D700 DSLR,
Does changing the sensitivity on File/Preferences help?

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 10:26 PM   #9
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,210
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

There must be movement to the side when each picture is taken - overlap of 20-30% is probably best...

Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceye View Post
... My recent capture was one of the same person three times on a balcony, with reference points all along and plenty of overlap, it made no difference the program could not stitch them together. .
For this to have a chance of working (presumably to show the same person standing on the balcony 3 times) - the person must not be in any of the overlapping parts of the pictures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo Pete View Post
.. With the Nikon the PanoramaPlus can't even detect similar features in two almost identical photos when taken from exactly the same position, ....
If there is not sufficient movement to the side there is no panorama - just two pictures of the same view.

Panorama plus can only stitch left to right (or right to left) - it cannot extract parts of one picture and insert it in another.
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 12:57 AM   #10
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,147
AlfredP has a reputation approching nirvanaAlfredP has a reputation approching nirvanaAlfredP has a reputation approching nirvanaAlfredP has a reputation approching nirvanaAlfredP has a reputation approching nirvanaAlfredP has a reputation approching nirvana
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by alspar View Post
Panorama plus can only stitch left to right (or right to left)
Or top to bottom (or bottom to top).

Alfred
__________________
Windows 7® Home Premium SP1 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i5-480M 2.6GHz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; Intel® HD Graphics
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 08:01 AM   #11
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,333
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredP View Post
Or top to bottom (or bottom to top).

Alfred
And/or top to bottom (or bottom to top).

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:04 AM   #12
Photo Pete
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Photo Pete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Blanthorn View Post
Does changing the sensitivity on File/Preferences help?

Geoff
Hi Geoff,

Sadly no, even on the most sensitive setting I still get the same outcome.
Photo Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:40 AM   #13
Photo Pete
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Photo Pete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by alspar View Post
If there is not sufficient movement to the side there is no panorama - just two pictures of the same view.

Panorama plus can only stitch left to right (or right to left) - it cannot extract parts of one picture and insert it in another.
Hi Alspar,

Sorry, I think you've missed my point.

You can use the two cameras to take an identical series of photos of the same scene, PanoPlus will stitch the Fuji photos, but not the Nikon ones. The only difference between the two sets of photos is that Nikons jpegs are about 3 times the size (in Mb) of the Fuji.
Photo Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 09:55 PM   #14
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,210
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo Pete View Post
Hi Alspar,

Sorry, I think you've missed my point.

You can use the two cameras to take an identical series of photos of the same scene, PanoPlus will stitch the Fuji photos, but not the Nikon ones. The only difference between the two sets of photos is that Nikons jpegs are about 3 times the size (in Mb) of the Fuji.
Sorry Photo Pete - I read the quote literally and not in relation to those photos taken with the other camera.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo Pete
.. With the Nikon the PanoramaPlus can't even detect similar features in two almost identical photos when taken from exactly the same position, ....

Available memory may be a consideration with the larger photos? or possibly the RAW format?
__________________
Alan

Last edited by alspar; 3rd May 2012 at 10:35 PM.
alspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:26 PM   #15
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,210
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredP View Post
Or top to bottom (or bottom to top).

Alfred
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Blanthorn View Post
And/or top to bottom (or bottom to top).

Geoff
Hi Alfred and Geoff

There is never any mention or illustrations of vertical panoramas in the help or on the Website - but I've just tried it and it works (of course).

Thanks
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:48 PM   #16
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,333
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by alspar View Post
Hi Alfred and Geoff

There is never any mention or illustrations of vertical panoramas in the help or on the Website - but I've just tried it and it works (of course).

Thanks
Several of the supplied samples illustrate that feature.

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:55 PM   #17
alspar
Senior Member
 
alspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4,210
alspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond reputealspar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Blanthorn View Post
Several of the supplied samples illustrate that feature.

Geoff
They do too! - Thanks Geoff.

I really must learn to check out samples!
__________________
Alan
alspar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 12:58 AM   #18
ggrussell
Expert
 
ggrussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryville, TN USA
Posts: 8,010
ggrussell is well on the road to greatness
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Don't think size has anything to do with it. Recently bought a Sony A65 which does panoramas in the camera. I use PanoPlus to stitch two panoramas together vertically. Each file was 8192 X 1856. I was using the Starter Edition, too.

The attached is , of course, reduced so I could post it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Panorama field.JPG (497.8 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Intel i7 4770k, 16GB, Kingston 240GB SSD, Hitachi 1.5TB HD, ATI HD7870, Canon HV20, Sony TRV740 8mm digital, Sony SLT-A65VK for still images, Windows 8 Pro Media Center, 64bit
Gary Russell -- TN USA
ggrussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 10:08 PM   #19
FoG
Regular Member
 
FoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 105
FoG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Thought the paid one would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceye View Post
I appreciate what you have said and totally understand that reasoning and requirement for the program to function. My recent capture was one of the same person three times on a balcony, with reference points all along and plenty of overlap, it made no difference the program could not stitch them together. It appears that it can only deal with the most basic of vistas which for the price I can understand, but what I do not understand is when there are the overlaps and points in all individual pictures then why does it not do what it says on the tin every time, to get a message and not able to move on is frustrating and basically "cheating" the customer.
for what it is worth you would be better off with a panorama of the balcony ans a background then three shots of the person blended in layers onto this in photoplus with a person the prog will try to use them in all points as a main focal point unless you use others manually which you then may end up with ghosting the technique you are trying for is muliplicity i take it ? usually this is several shots overlayng each other and using layer masks to create the effect still possible in panorama but then needing the extra work in photoplus... done right it looks lovely takes patience mind you lol ...hope this helps
__________________
MarkH aka FoG

My Site
FoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhotoPlus Starter Edition: Just a thought Black Spot PhotoPlus 0 30th April 2011 10:29 PM
WebPlus X4: I Thought This Could Be Of Help To The Community stevo WebPlus 35 30th July 2010 12:02 AM
New to the forum and thought id say hi.. dazzleit WebPlus 21 20th April 2009 10:53 PM
Dictionary thought Phil PagePlus 0 8th June 2007 08:29 PM
A Thought About Templates. Jim B. General 2 1st March 2006 07:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 AM.