Go Back   Serif Software Forums > Photos and Movies > PhotoPlus

Notices

PhotoPlus Questions about using PhotoPlus for photo editing

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th October 2010, 05:06 AM   #21
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,452
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Nguyen View Post
Hi all,
I just bought a Photo Plus x4 at Office Depot. When I start to install by disk, it's show the window to select: Photo Plus x4 or Panorama Plus. After click Photo Plus x4 it's show a window text:" Setup has encountered a problem and needs to close. Error code: 13"
I have been trying on three difference computer run Vista, Windows XP all of them happened the same.
Please direction how to install the PPx4. I have working by computer nearly 18 years and this first case happen to me.
- One more thing, when I do registration at Serif.com, it's require fill the registration code and installation code* . I just have the Product Key (25 numeric and letters) only. How do I have the registration code? When I type the installation code, the letter just blink and disappear, it's not let me type full code!!!
Thanks for support
Brian
Brian,

For the data to type into the Registration form see Help/Registration Wizard

Geoff

Last edited by Geoff Blanthorn; 15th October 2010 at 06:14 PM.
Geoff Blanthorn is offline  
Old 15th October 2010, 01:49 PM   #22
AlfredP
Guru
 
AlfredP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 26,444
AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)AlfredP has nothing more to prove (nirvana)
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Nguyen View Post
I just have the Product Key (25 numeric and letters) only. How do I have the registration code? When I type the installation code, the letter just blink and disappear, it's not let me type full code!!!
Hi Brian,

The 25-character Product Key is only for use when installing the program; as Geoff has indicated, the Registration Wizard will give you the numbers you need. As it happens, the Registration Code is the same as the first two blocks from the Product Key, but with a forward slash instead of a hyphen. (e.g. HPX4U/SER01 for a PK beginning HPX4U-SER01-....). The Installation Number is a ten-digit number (i.e. no letters).

Alfred
__________________
Windows 10® Home 64-bit; Intel® Core™ i3-4010U CPU; 4GB DDR3L RAM; Intel® HD Graphics 4400
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)
AlfredP is offline  
Old 15th October 2010, 02:16 PM   #23
Sarah W
Expert
 
Sarah W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 8,465
Sarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to beholdSarah W is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Nguyen View Post
I just bought a Photo Plus x4 at Office Depot. When I start to install by disk, it's show the window to select: Photo Plus x4 or Panorama Plus. After click Photo Plus x4 it's show a window text:" Setup has encountered a problem and needs to close. Error code: 13"
Hi Brian,

This is a known issue, I'm afraid that the stock replicated for Office Depot is faulty. Please contact Technical Support and report your problem, they will be able to help.

Apologies for the inconvenience.
Sarah W is offline  
Old 16th October 2010, 12:34 AM   #24
Brian Nguyen
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Brian Nguyen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Thankyou all for reply,
I have been exchange another package to hope the problem could be solve, but the new box with the original seal still happening the same way.
I am trying the two Method 1 and 2, it's still not working and I could not find the serif file with extension .msi? in open CD Photo Plus x4
Thanks again for support.
Brian
Brian Nguyen is offline  
Old 16th October 2010, 03:05 AM   #25
Geoff Blanthorn
Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakebay, Washington
Posts: 6,452
Geoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to beholdGeoff Blanthorn is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Nguyen View Post
Thankyou all for reply,
I have been exchange another package to hope the problem could be solve, but the new box with the original seal still happening the same way.
I am trying the two Method 1 and 2, it's still not working and I could not find the serif file with extension .msi? in open CD Photo Plus x4
Thanks again for support.
Brian
Brian,

Have you contacted Technical Support as Sarah suggested? See http://support.serif.com/

I imagine all Office Depot's stock will be the same.

Geoff
Geoff Blanthorn is offline  
Old 16th October 2010, 10:56 PM   #26
SteveBon
Member
 
SteveBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 38
SteveBon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidp View Post
Hi Robert,

Just out of interest, I would like to know if you have now managed now to get PhP X2 to run with Windows 7. It’s not actually certified to run with that operating system.

Regards

David.
David - I have MoviePlus X3, PagePlus X3, and PhotoPlus X2 all running on Windows 7 without any probs at all.
The only problem I ever encountered was with a m/c running Vista 64-bit.NOTHING would work on that.
SteveBon is offline  
Old 18th October 2010, 08:36 AM   #27
Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Limited
 
Patrick Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Serif Nottingham
Posts: 3,460
Patrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Brian,

This is a known issue, I'm afraid that the stock replicated for Office Depot is faulty. Please contact Technical Support and report your problem, they will be able to help. Their approach is to overnight deliver a replacement to your door. The faulty stock has been withdrawn and so any stock that is in the store, after next week, will be all new stock and work correctly.

Apologies for the inconvenience.
__________________
Patrick Connor
Head of Software Testing
Serif (Europe) Ltd.
Patrick Connor is offline  
Old 18th October 2010, 09:33 AM   #28
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Connor View Post
This is a known issue, I'm afraid that the stock replicated for Office Depot is faulty. Please contact Technical Support and report your problem, they will be able to help. Their approach is to overnight deliver a replacement to your door. The faulty stock has been withdrawn and so any stock that is in the store, after next week, will be all new stock and work correctly.
I do hope that Office Depot has some way of notifying its customers and offering replacements.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 18th October 2010, 09:42 AM   #29
Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Limited
 
Patrick Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Serif Nottingham
Posts: 3,460
Patrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardS View Post
I do hope that Office Depot has some way of notifying its customers and offering replacements.
Really? the software does not install, you would think the customers would notice without needing notifying....
__________________
Patrick Connor
Head of Software Testing
Serif (Europe) Ltd.
Patrick Connor is offline  
Old 18th October 2010, 10:04 AM   #30
RichardS
Master
 
RichardS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nr Hitchin, UK
Posts: 19,746
RichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant futureRichardS has a brilliant future
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Connor View Post
Really? the software does not install, you would think the customers would notice without needing notifying....
Unfortunately, some folk will simply decide that "Serif is rubbish," bin the software and "put it down to experience." Then, they may well spread the word to their friends and across web forums.

Decades ago, a highly-paid consultant lectured us about a great new IT system he'd supplied to publishers & bookshops, and how it met all their needs...

... a few weeks later, newspapers reported that a publisher was unable to recall a dodgy book from these same bookshops... because of the IT system.
__________________
64-bit Win10 Pro 1703, i5-2320, 8GB RAM, HD2000 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 1607, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
32-bit WinXP Home, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics.
32-bit Win10 Pro 14946, AMD64 3200+, 2GB RAM, Bodged ATI Video & AC97 Audio drivers.
64-bit (3GB) & 32-bit (2GB) Win10 Pro 16170, on VirtualBox, 2 CPU cores, 128MB video
RichardS is offline  
Old 24th February 2011, 11:53 PM   #31
gmarsh
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
gmarsh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Couldridge View Post
Since the discs have worked before, and it's affecting several software packages indiscriminately, I think we can assume the discs, and the packages on the discs, are good.

Theoretically, then, this lands the problem with Windows Installer.

If this were an earlier version of Windows I'd go ahead and suggest installing the latest available version of Windows Installer (4.5), but unfortunately, Windows 7 uses Windows Installer 5, and you can't yet get a download of it, to my knowledge...

You could try the following, which will unregister Windows Installer on the system, and then register again, and may iron out kinks with it. No guarantees though.

1. Hold the "Windows key" (usually between CTRL and ALT) and press "R".
2. In the "Run" window that appears, type the following:

msiexec /unregister

3. Click "OK".
4. If the command is successful, you won't get any feedback. If it fails it should provide an error of some sort.
5. Hold the "Windows key" (usually between CTRL and ALT) and press "R".
6. In the "Run" window that appears, type the following:

msiexec /regserver

7. Click "OK".
8. Once again, if successful, there will be no feedback.

Following the steps, I would suggest rebooting, so that Windows can take stock of the newly registered service, and then trying the installations again.
I see this post over and over again but I do not see anything that documents the reason behind it. Serif seems to have a problem with a number of the packages .. some work, some don't. Though the install could be a problem what you might want to ask is if other programs can install cleanly first. If that is the case then it is unlikely the windows installer itself but how it is being used.

In my case I have downloaded 3 packages, 1 works cleanly and 2 fail with the same symptoms .. files are unpacked and then when the installer is launched it fails with a file not found error.

I have checked the Kb and find nothing refering to these issues .. maybe it would save everyone some effort if all these suggestions are put into a single KB
gmarsh is offline  
Old 23rd March 2011, 07:28 PM   #32
Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Limited
 
Patrick Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Serif Nottingham
Posts: 3,460
Patrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Connor has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Installing PhotoPlus on windows 7

Sorry to dig up this old thread.
If anyone finds this thread with a search, the cause and a work around are suggested in this thread
http://forums.serif.com/showthread.php?t=88697
Thank you
__________________
Patrick Connor
Head of Software Testing
Serif (Europe) Ltd.
Patrick Connor is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
drawplus x2, pageplus x2, photoplus x 2, web plus x2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing DSA2 again after getting a new copy of Windows MrsPeel Digital Scrapbook Artist 54 16th August 2010 07:02 PM
Windows Explorer problem after installing IE8 AlfredP General 3 25th April 2010 04:24 PM
Installing Photoplus 8 Jacqui Davies PhotoPlus 0 15th July 2007 04:32 PM
PhotoPlus 5.5 not installing Richard Webb PagePlus 3 8th November 2002 06:38 AM
Installing PhotoPlus 6 paid $1.00 Javier PhotoPlus 3 7th January 2002 02:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:23 PM.